Minutes of Regular Meeting June 9, 2020 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, June 9, 2020 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Board Room via Zoom.

1. 5:30 p.m. Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, James Beistle, Kelly Kamish, Ryan Peterson, Sheryl

Holmgren, Jeromy Cox, Pat Kastens

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Brandon Robinson

Members Absent:

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

3. Consideration to Suspend Regular Session and Convene Closed Session for the Purpose of WI § 19.85 (1)(c) in considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility.

Motion to convene into closed session by Ryan Peterson.

Second by James Beistle.

a.Roll Call

Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson (yes), Sheryl Holmgren(yes), Ryan Peterson (yes), Kelly Kamish (yes), James Beistle (yes), Jeromy Cox (yes), Pat Kastens (yes)

- b. Approval of Closed Minutes May 12, 2020
- c. Consideration of Notice of Final Non-Renewal of Certified Staff
- d. Adjourn Closed Session
- e. Convene Regular Session
- 4. **6:30PM** (Approx.) Citizens' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Germane to Agenda Item)
 None
- 5. Board Member Updates
- 6. **Information**
 - a. CESA Report Mr. James Beistle
 - b. District Administrator's Report Mr. Brandon Robinson
 - 1) Budget
 - 2) Summer School
 - c. Early Childhood Curriculum Report Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen
- 8. Consent Agenda
 - a. Approval of Minutes, May 12, 2020

Motion to Approve the May 12, 2020 Minutes by Ryan Peterson.

Second by James Beistle.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Approval of Finance Committee Minutes, June 2, 2020

Motion to Approve the June 2, 2020 Finance Committee Minutes by Pat Kastens.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the May 2020 Vouchers by Pat Kastens.

Second by Jeromy Cox.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Ryan Peterson Abstained.)

c. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts

Motion to Approve the May 2020 Activity Accounts by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

d. Financial & Budget Report – Ms. Kara Holden/Mr. Brandon Robinson

Motion to Receive the May 2020 Financial & Budget Report by James Beistle.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- e. Personnel
 - 1) Consideration and Approval of Various Resignations and Retirements

Motion to approve the Retirement of Karla Cook, Educational Assistant by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

5) Consideration and Approval of Various Hires, including but not limited to: Middle School Teachers, High School Teachers

Motion to approve the Hires of Hannah Bokor (Middle School Teacher),

Meredith Sorel (Middle School Instrumental Teacher), and Kevin Harris (High School Math & Physics Teacher) by James Besitle.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

14. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval to Authorize Year-End Inter-Fund Transfers - Ms. Kara Holden Motion to approve the Authorization of Year-End Inter-Fund Transfers by Pat Kastens. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Consideration and Approval of Student Accident Insurance - Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to approve Student Accident Insurance by Jeromy Cox.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Consideration and Approval to Authorize Payment of the 2019-2020 Year-End Vouchers - Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to approve the Authorization of Payment of the 2019-2020 Year-End Vouchers by Pat Kastens.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

d. Consideration and Approval to Renew the 2020-2021 Early Childhood Shared Service 66.030 Contract- Frederic/Unity - *Mr. Brandon Robinson*

Motion to approve the Renewal of the 2020-2021 Early Childhood Shared Service 66.030 Contract- Frederic/Unity by Pat Kastens.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

e. Consideration and Approval of the INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN UNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT, FREDERIC SCHOOL DISTRICT, AND LUCK SCHOOL DISTRICT – Bus Transportation Cooperative, 66.0301

Motion to approve the INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN UNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT, FREDERIC SCHOOL DISTRICT, AND LUCK SCHOOL DISTRICT – Bus

Transportation Cooperative, 66.0301 by Sheryl Holmgren.

Second by Jeromy Cox.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

1)Appointment of Board Transportation Cooperative Representative

Debbie Ince-Peterson appoints Ryan Peterson as the Board

Transportation Cooperative Representative for Unity School District.

f. Consideration and Approval to Authorize Write-Off of Lunch Accounts - *Ms. Kara Holden*Motion to approve the Authorization to Write-Off of Lunch Accounts by Pat Kastens.
Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

g. Consideration and Approval of the 2020-2021 WIAA High School Membership Renewal - *Mr. Brandon Robinson*

Motion to approve the 2020-2021 WIAA High School Membership Renewal by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

h. Presentation of the End of the Year AGR Report - Dr. William DeWit

Motion to approve the End of the Year AGR Report by Sheryl Holmgren.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

i. Consideration and Approval of the 2020-2021 Lunch Prices - Mr. Brandon Robinson

Motion to approve the 2020-2021 Lunch Prices by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

j. Consideration and Approval of the 2020-2021 PreK/Kindergarten Calendar

Motion to approve the 2020-2021 PreK/Kindergarten Calendar

by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

15. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by James Beistle.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 7:14 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Pat Kastens, School Board Clerk