Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1779 - Minutes of Regular Board Meeting – May 8, 2017

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, May 8, 2017 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

John Sawyer, Secretary Gerardo Carbajal Stephanie Johnson

Amanda Scarborough

Members absent: Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

Norman Baker

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Donald Gordon, Kathy Groppel, Keith Hannah, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Sharee Osten, Cathy Patterson, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Dale Snyder, Stephanie Tucker, and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Bishop Billy Clark. Chris Teague led the pledge.

Public Comments – none

15412 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve the consent agenda with no change.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Correspondence to the board – A thank you note was read from the Patterson family thanking the board for the book placed in the Junior High library in memory of Marellen Patterson.

15413 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the Gifted and Talented Handbook with updated assessment measures and revised offerings for students.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

15414 – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by John Sawyer to approve DNC's service amendment for the time period of June 1, 2017 through May 31, 2018.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

Principals gave a verbal Bright Spots report to the board about great things happening on their campuses.

Cathryn Patterson gave a Special Instructional Report on HJHS happenings.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities started on roofing projects
- Retirement Reception, May 10th from 4:00 5:30
- Senior Awards & Scholarships, May 9th @ 6:30
- Legacy Banquet, May 20th, First United Methodist Church @ 6:30
- Graduation, May 27th, 6:00 pm @ Ferrell Center, Baylor University
- End of Year Luncheon, June 1st
- Date for budget workshop June 12th, following regular board meeting
- May 17th, Spring Relays
- Canvass Election, May 11th @ 7:30 a.m.

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #12 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #13 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:24 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:35 p.m.

15415 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve the superintendent's recommendation on hiring Colby Blackwell, Irene Frazier, Stan McGarvey, and Albert Parker

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

15416 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to continue discussion and development of Professional Pathways.			
Vote:	Aye unanimous	5/0	
15417 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to adjourn the meeting at 7:36 p.m.			
Vote:	Aye unanimous	5/0	
Preside	ent		Secretary