AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE GEORGE H.W. BUSH NEW TECH ODESSA, 300 EAST 29TH STREET, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., March 28, 2017, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent: Ray Beaty, D.C. Nelson Minyard

Ray Beaty, D.C.
Dr. Steve Brown
Teri Ervin
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Finley, Roy Garcia, Keith

Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell, Brian Moersch, Todd

Vesely, Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Autumn Sloan, Mirna Valenzuela, Nancy Vanley, Meg

Bloch, Mauricio Romero, Ann McClarty, Marlane Burns, Yolanda Hernandez, Mary Neff, Cynthia McNabb, Elaine Sparks, Mary

Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Teri Ervin, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Pease Elementary School Students Elyiah Conwright and Krystal Juarez

23662 Invocation: Invocation was led by Reverend Clydel Chapman, Northside Baptist Church

23663 Special Presentations:

Recognition of Donation from Hemphill Foundation: The Hemphill Foundation representative was unable to attend the meeting.

Introduction of Wilson & Young MS as TSPRA Video Contest Winner: Wilson & Young MS entered a video contest sponsored by the Texas School Public Relations Association. In February the campus was notified the Rangers video was picked as the middle school winner from the West Texas Region. In early March the campus was notified that their video was selected as the best middle school entry in the state. The school will receive a \$1,250 prize from Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union.

Introduction of International Baccalaureate Diploma Candidates: Odessa HS Principal Greg Nelson and IB Coordinator Mary Neff introduced the following IB Diploma Candidates:

Allison Aguilar Nicholas Arreguy Sydney Bauer Candice Cirilo Isaac Dominguez Rusty Everett

Viviana Flores	Omar Garcia	Draven Hodgson
German Jacobo	Zebin Lin	Mason Macias

Giovanni Medrano Edgardo Miguel Montemayor

Alexis Morales Fabian Mota Juan Ochoa Nirav Patel Radha Patel Viney Regunath Damaris Rodriguez Mauricio Romero Tiara Salazar

Tyler Sebolt Mia Stanley Angelica Valenzuela

Bianca Velasquez Vamsi Vemulapalli

Introduction of State Qualifiers in TAME, VASE, Guitar, Mariachi, and Powerlifting:

<u>Recognition of TAME State Qualifiers</u>: Falcon ECHS Principal Lindsey Lumpkin introduced student TAME State Qualifiers.

Freshmen Deidre Soto, Reuben Woods, and Glenn DeLaPena,

Sophomore Haley Lavergne

<u>Recognition of VASE State Qualifiers</u>: Executive Director of Fine Arts Mark Lyon introduced the Visual Arts Scholastic Event (VASE) State Qualifiers and teachers.

Permian High School

Teacher: Pam Burkhaulter (2 Area Medalist)	Title of Artwork
Coursey, William	The Head
Ward, April	The Third Eye
Teacher: LaRee Morris (1 Area Medalist)	Title of Artwork
Quinonez, Ariah	"Castaway"
Teacher: Sally Powell (3 Area Medalist)	Title of Artwork
Bloch, Hayden	The Expired Coupon
Bloch, Hayden	Blood Moon
Gallegos, Nayeli	Beauty After Death
Teacher: Luis Trejo Fuentes (1 Area Medalist)	Title of Artwork
Gonzalez, Daniela	Spellbook

Odessa High School

Teacher: Cynthia Wood (1 Area Medalist)	Title of Artwork
Aguilar, Allison	Self-portrait

Falcon Early College

Leacher: Christopher Golden (3 Area Medalist)	Litle of Artwork
Chartier, Millie	Quantum

Tolentino, Ashley The Black Tolentino, Ashley Jasmin

Recognition of Guitar State Qualifiers: Odessa High School Director of Guitar Joe Campos, Jr. introduced the student Guitar State Qualifiers.

Hope Villa Justin Rios Alexis Armendariz Adrian Carrillo Jesus Monroy Greg White Oscar Munoz Jake Almanza **Bradin Walker** Trinity Mata Josh Chavez Kolby Giles Edward Galvan Charmaine Tejada Alyssa Garcia Dorian Garcia Andra Chaparro Guerrero Javier Rodriguez

<u>Recognition of Mariachi State Qualifiers</u>: Odessa High School Director of Mariachi Jerimie Hernandez introduced the student Mariachi State Qualifiers.

Trumpets:

Christian Rojero, David Carrillo, Olaff Hernandez, and Homero Marquez

Violins: Kevin Quintana (and vocalist), Justin Lopez, Monserrath Melchor, Janyssa Valdez, Marlene Campos, and Lucero Soto

Rhythm Section: Samantha Sotelo, Ibrahim Martinez, Alex Perales, Diego Simental

Recognition of Powerlifting State Qualifiers: Odessa High School Powerlifting Coach Dean Garza introduced the student Powerlifting State Qualifiers.

Hattie Green - 1st in Region Cecilia Palma - 1st in Region Mavelyn Ramos - 1st in Region Keyanna Alexander - 2nd in Region D'Lijah Gamboa - 3rd in Region Ariana Leal - 4th in Region Angelika Rojero - 7th in Region

- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Teri Minyard, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- Request for Approval to Cancel May 6, 2017 Single Member District,
 Position 4 and Position 5 Elections and Certify the Unopposed
 Candidates as "Elected" (Solicitud de Aprobar la Cancelacion del Panel
 de Fideicomisario Posicion Numero 4 y Posicion Numero 5 y Certificar
 los Candidatos sin oposicion 'Elegido" Fijada para el 6 de Mayo del
 2017): Moved by Gregg, seconded by Woodall to approve to Cancel May 6,
 2017 Single Member District, Position 4 and Position 5 Elections and Certify
 the Unopposed Candidates as "Elected"

(Solicitud de Aprobar la Cancelacion del Panel de Fideicomisario Posicion Numero 4 y Posicion Numero 5 y Certificar los Candidatos sin oposicion 'Elegido" Fijada para el 6 de Mayo del 2017) as presented.

Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000: 23666 There were no Purchases over \$50,000 that required approval.

No action required.

- Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Gregg, seconded by 23667 Brown to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
 - 1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

February 14, 2017 – Board Work Study Meeting

February 21, 2017 – Regular Board Meeting

February 28, 2017 – Special Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of Campus Turnaround Plans
- 5. Request for Approval of Permian Basin Workforce Development Board Scholarship Agreement
- 6. Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement/TCC Service Agreement for iTCCS to ESC 18

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 23668 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No closed session held.

Adjournment: Teri Ervin, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 23669 7:01 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Teri Wheat Ervin, MEd	Ray Beaty, D.C