### November 18, 2024

The Board of Education of the McKinney Independent School District met in a Regular Board of Trustees meeting on November 18, 2024, beginning at 6:00 PM in the McKinney ISD Stadium and Event Center, 4201 South Hardin Blvd., McKinney, Texas 75070. Board President, Philip Hassler, called the meeting to order 6:00 PM and established a quorum.

Members Present Philip Hassler, Amy Dankel, Chad Green, Larry Jagours,

Stephanie O'Dell, Lynn Sperry

Members Absent Harvey Oaxaca

Administration Present Superintendent, Shawn Pratt,

Chief Accountability Officer, Jennifer Akins

Executive Director of Secondary Leadership, Jeff Banner

Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources,

Alana Chisum

Assistant Superintendent of Teaching Learning &

Accountability, Dr. Amber Epperson

Executive Director of Elementary Leadership, Molly Hovan

Sr. Director of Legal Affairs, Aretha Jackson Chief Information Officer, Stephen McGilvrey

Deputy Superintendent of Leadership, Melanie Raleeh

Assistant Superintendent of Public Relations &

Communications, Dr. Shelly Spaulding Chief Operations Officer, Greg Suttle

Assistant Superintendent of Business Operations &

Technology, Dr. Dennis Womack

Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Missie Pearce Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Tanya McKinnis

Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Azaleah

Barreto

Call to Order
First order of Business

Announcement by the president whether a quorum is present, that the meeting had been duly called and notice of the meeting had been posted for the time and manner required by law.

Invocation led by Board Member, Larry Jagours Pledges of Allegiance led by Board Member, Larry Jagours

Recognitions

Volunteer McKinney Recognition

Representative Frederick Frazier recognized Board Member Larry Jagours with a resolution for Mr. Jagour's Volunteer McKinney Award, Pete and Nancy Huff Volunteer Community Service and Legacy award

We are McKinney Superintendent Award

Assistant Superintendent of Public Relations and Communications, Dr. Shelly Spaulding, presented the We are McKinney award to Jennifer Wilson, Wilmeth Elementary and Cindy Erhart, McKinney High School

Paraprofessional of the Month Award

Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources, Alana Chisum, presented the Paraprofessional of the Month award to Terri Battleson, Malvern Elementary

Fall State Qualifiers – Cross Country

Athletic Director, Jennifer Fraizer, presented the Fall State Qualifiers, cross country from McKinney Boyd and McKinney North

Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented Teacher of the Year Coordinator of Gifted and Talented Trey Wright, recognized Ricardo Sneller, Walker Elementary, for his TAGT Teacher of the Year award

### **National Merit Scholars**

Coordinator of Advanced Academics & Collegiate Partnerships, Dr. Javetta Jones-Roberson presented the National Merit Scholars from McKinney Boyd, McKinney High, and McKinney North High Schools

## **Armed Security Officers**

Assistant Superintendent of Public Relations and Communications, Dr. Shelly Spaulding along with Senior Director of Safety and Security, Rusty May recognized campus Armed Security Officers

# Public Comment on agenda and non-agenda items

- 1. Kayla Sollars spoke on student safety
- 2. Samuel Hall spoke on school policy
- 3. Michael Conway spoke on safety
- 4. Kyle Sims spoke on safety
- 5. Dan Porzio spoke on- In my opinion

Board President, Philip Hassler announced the Board would not be adjourning to closed meeting

### Presentations

Strategic Plan: Pillar 4- MISD Family & Culture Update Deputy Superintendent of Leadership, Melanie Raleeh presented the Strategic Plan: Pillar 4-MISD Family & Culture Update

Consent Agenda

- A. Minutes
  - 1. October 28, 2024, Regular Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Financial Reports
  - 1. Budget Amendments October 2024
- C. McKinney Boyd High School-Award of the Competitive Bidding Contract for the Replacement of the HVAC System, the Interior and Exterior Electrical Lighting Systems, the Plumbing Fixtures, and the Fire Alarm System
- D. Personnel Recommendation: Employment
- E. Personnel Contract Type Changes
- F. Authorization of Specific District Security Employees to Possess Firearms
- G. Innovative Course List

Discussion / Action

No. 9464

Consider approval of Consent Agenda

Motion was made by Mrs. O'Dell and seconded by Mrs. Sperry to approve the consent agenda as presented

YEAS Philip Hassler, Amy Dankel, Stephanie O'Dell, Chad Green, Larry Jagours, Lynn

Sperry

NAYS None

No. 9465

Election of Directors of Central Appraisal District (Strategic Plan 6.1)

Motion was made by Mrs. O'Dell and seconded by Mrs. Dankel to cast the 371 votes for the Election of Directors of Central Appraisal District to Brian Mantzey

YEAS Philip Hassler, Amy Dankel, Stephanie O'Dell, Larry Jagours,

Lynn Sperry

NAYS Chad Green

Monthly Written Reports

Donations Less Than \$5,000 Bond Report Energy Report Construction Report Transportation Report HR Report

Mr. Jagours made a motion to add an agenda item to request an amendment to board policy. After a discussion on proper protocol, Mr. Jagours will be emailing the exact language and policy name to Board President, Philip Hassler.

Future Business/Meetings/Events

December 16, 2024, Regular Board Meeting, CEC, 6:00PM

January 15, 2025, Strategic Planning Meeting, CEC, 8:00AM Tuesday, January 21, 2025, Regular Board Meeting, CEC, 6:00PM

# Adjournment

Stephanie O'Dell made a motion to adjourn, and Larry Jagours seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 7:33 PM

