MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION BEMIDJI AREA SCHOOLS NOVEMBER 15, 2024

The special meeting of the Board of Education, Bemidji Area Schools, Bemidji, Beltrami/Hubbard Counties, Minnesota, was held on Friday, November 15, 2024, at 7:00 a.m., in the District Office Board Room with Anna Manecke joining from 1300 Anne St, Bemidji, MN 56601.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Julie Laitala, Ann Long Voelkner, Justin Hoover, Dave Wall and Superintendent Jeremy Olson

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mckenzie Edevold – Student Representative

CALL TO ORDER: 7:00 a.m.

The motion was offered by Jenny Frenzel, seconded by Justin Hoover, and carried by all in attendance to approve the agenda.

AGENDA

Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District General Election

Julie Laitala introduced the following resolution and urged its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31, as follows:

1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 5th, 2024, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.

2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 47,262 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of three school board members for four year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Todd Haugen	11,407
Carol L. Johnson	6,860
Ann Long Voelkner	6,904
Nicole Jaranson	6,667
Jack Aakhus	8,576
Julie Laitala	6,660
WRITE-IN	<u>188</u>
Total Votes	47,262

3. Todd Haugen, Ann Long Voelkner and Jack Aakhus having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2025.

4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Justin Hoover and a tabulation of votes is as follows:

AYES: Ann Long Voelkner, Justin Hoover, Anna Manecke, Julie Laitala, Jenny Frenzel, and Dave Wall

Resolution Authorizing Issuance of Certificates of Election and Directing School District Clerk to Perform Other Election Related Duties.

Justin Hoover introduced the following resolution and urged its adoption:

WHEREAS, the board has canvassed the election for school board members held November 5th, 2024.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31, State of Minnesota as follows:

1. The chair and clerk are hereby authorized to execute certificates of election on behalf of the school board of Independent School District No. 31 to the following candidates:

- a. Todd Haugen b. Ann Long Voelkner
- c. Jack Aakhus

who have received a sufficiently large number of votes to be elected to fill vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the election, based on the results of the canvass.

2. The certificate of election shall be in substantially the form attached hereto.

3. After the time for contesting the election has passed and the candidate has filed all campaign financial reports required by Minnesota Statues, Chapter 211A, the clerk of the school board is hereby directed to deliver the certificates to the persons entitled thereto personally or by certified mail.

4. The clerk is hereby directed to enclose with the certificate a form of acceptance of office and oath of office in substantially the form attached hereto.

The above resolution was seconded by Jenny Frenzel, and a tabulation of votes is as follows:

AYES: Ann Long Voelkner, Justin Hoover, Anna Manecke, Julie Laitala, Jenny Frenzel, and Dave Wall NOES: None ABSENT: None

WHEREUPON said resolution was declared passed and adopted.

Adjournment

The motion was offered by Jenny Frenzel, seconded by Justin Hoover, and carried by all in attendance to adjourn the meeting. Time: 7:07 a.m.

Anna Manecke, Clerk

Date Approved

Dave Wall, Chair

Date Approved