A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT RELATING TO THE O'HARE NOISE COMPATIBILITY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the City of Chicago is a home rule municipality pursuant to Article VII, Section 6 of the 1970 Illinois Constitution (the "Illinois Constitution"), and, as such, may exercise any power and perform any function related to its government and affairs; and

WHEREAS, the City of Chicago owns and operates an airport known as Chicago O'Hare International Airport (the "Airport"); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to authority granted by an ordinance adopted by this City Council on October 30, 1996, and Section 10 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution and the Intergovernmental Cooperation Act (5 ILCS 220), the City entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement Relating to the O'Hare Noise Compatibility Commission (the "Intergovernmental Agreement") by and among the City and various municipalities and public school districts (as defined in the Intergovernmental Agreement, "Participants"); and

WHEREAS, the O'Hare Noise Compatibility Commission ("ONCC") was established pursuant to the Intergovernmental Agreement and provides a common forum for interested parties to have a voice in noise issues related to the Airport; and

WHEREAS, by its terms, the Intergovernmental Agreement became effective in November of 1996 and the term was extended from December 31, 2015 to December 31, 2020, and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Education for Wood Dale School District 7;

SECTION 1. That the recitals set forth herein above are incorporated herein by reference as the factual basis for this transaction.

SECTION 2. That the Board President is hereby authorized to execute, and the Board Secretary attest the approval of the attached Intergovernmental Agreement relating to the O'Hare Noise Compatibility Commission.

SECTION 3. That this Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage and approval according to law.

PASSED this 16th day of November 2017.

APPROVED this 16th day of November 2017.

VOTE: Ayes____ Nays___ Absent____

Joseph Petrella, Board President

ATTEST:

Araceli Botello, Board Secretary