DRAFT

Minutes of the May 20, 2024 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 20, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; Ranna Raval and Jobby Mathew.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 17, 2024, at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Chris Trotter; Joyce Alcorn; Naveen Boppana; Amanda Simpson and Taylor Bristow

NEW BUSINESS

On May 13, 2024, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 4, 2024. A Certificate of Election was issued to Trustee Bentley on May 13, 2024. Trustee Jobby Mathew was presented with his Certificate of Election on May 20, 2024, prior to being administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office.

Carol Snowden, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Nichole Bentley (Place 6) and Jobby Mathew (Place 7)

Dr. Hunt provided district highlights and updates on the following topics:

- Eric Hanson chosen as a CMA Music Teacher of Excellence
- State Representative Terry Meza visits Canyon Ranch Elementary and CMS West
- Thank You Graduation Sponsors and Contributors
- Kindergarten Round-up
- Mv Home is CISD

AWARDS

- District Teachers of the Year Chase Wofford and Heather Naragon
- Diane de Waal 35 years of Service
- Kim Pearce 40 years of Service

Trustee Jobby Mathew gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

OPEN FORUM

No one requested to speak during the Open Forum portion of the agenda.

DRAFT

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

- Bond Oversight Committee Update Diana Sircar (Chief Financial Officer) and Steven Solka (Committee Member)
- 2023-2024 School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Report Wednesday Foster (Parent Chair) and Joyce Alcorn (Coordinator of Health Services)
- 7.1.1 Strategic Plan Implementation Team Evaluation Tool Presentation Angela Brown (Chief Communications Officer)

CONSENT

Nichole Bentley requested to pull the May 13, 2024, minutes from the consent agenda due missing final canvassed numbers for candidates.

Manish Sethi made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on April 22, 2024, and Grievance Hearing on May 16, 2024
- Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for May 2024
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2024

Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Nichole Bentley motioned to postpone the approval of the May 13, 2024, minutes to the June 24, 2024, meeting. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill and passed 7-0.

ACTION

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the proposal from Mission Restaurant Supply for the purchase of two (2) dishwashers for a total cost not to exceed \$120,000. The motion was seconded by Ranna Raval and passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the proposal from United Rentals for the purchase of an articulating boom lift for a total cost not to exceed \$84,000 was made by Anthony Hill. The motion was seconded by Nichole Bentley and passed 7-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- District Safety & Security Design Committee David Caviness
- Superintendent's Business Advisory Council Nichole Bentley
- Bond Oversight Committee Jobby Mathew
- CTE Advisory Committee and Coppell Chamber of Commerce Education Committee – Anthony Hill

At 8:38 p.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.074 – Personnel.

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 10:04 p.m.

DRAFT

President Caviness conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

Manish Sethi nominated to elect Jobby Mathew to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Nichole Bentley seconded the nomination. Trustee Jobby Mathew was elected to the office of Secretary by a vote of 7-0.

Anthony Hill nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. Jobby Mathew seconded nomination. The vote for Nichole Bentley was 7-0. Trustee Nichole Bentley was elected to the office of Vice President.

Manish Sethi nominated David Caviness to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. Ranna Raval seconded the nomination. The vote for Trustee David Caviness was 7-0. Trustee David Caviness was elected to the office of President.

ADJOURNMENT

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:0 <i>i</i>	′ p.m.
	David Caviness, Board President
	Jobby Mathew, Secretary