MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

May 16, 2013

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session May 16, 2013 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Victor Lopez Maria Elena Lara Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the April 18, 2013 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Hector Gonzales, Joe Barker, Barbara Blair, Anne Tarski, Jesus J. Martinez, Johnny Guzman, Jeff Pomeroy, Reagan King, Linda Brown, Christine Foley, Becky Andrews, Margot Mata, Willie Edwards, Dr. Mark Underwood, Derek Sandoval, Amanda Hadley, Sharon Wilson, Oscar S. Garcia, Laura Gammill and Ismael Martinez. Also in attendance were Gary McClure from Templeton Construction, Dr. Paul Sorrels from Sul Ross/Rio Grande College and from the Uvalde Leader News, Jessica Magnus.

Audience to Patrons – None

Rodolfo R. Flores presented fifteen year service pins to Dr. Harry O. Watkins and Dr. Antonio H. Rivera.

Del Rio Project report given by Gary McClure of Templeton Construction.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the financial statement as of April 30, 2013 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to accept the SWTJC Foundation, Inc. leases for the Eagle Pass campus as presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales, President-Elect. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to table the item on the change order for Schneider Electric. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to authorize the Core Curriculum changes for THECB submittal. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Item on changes to Student Academic Status policies was tabled.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the revised changes to the Business Office policies as presented with recommended changes. Motion passed unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez "I move that the board add, revise, or delete (LOCAL) policies as recommended by TASB Policy Service and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 28 with no changes" and seconded by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Rodolfo R. Flores called the board into executive session at 7:55 p.m. to consider personnel matters.

Upon returning to open session at 8:23 p.m., a motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to award tenure to Christine Foley, Laura Gammill, Marsha Heaton, Evelyn Lastierre and Jeff Pomeroy. Also, to promote Laura Gammill and Cheryl Sanchez to professor rank. Motion carried unanimously. The recommendation is attached.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to exercise the option to extend lease with the City of Uvalde. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

There was no report given for Del Rio Changes Orders.

A report on the LVN program was presented by Johnny Guzman, Dean of College of Applies Sciences and Amanda Hadley, Director of the LVN Program.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:45 p.m.

p.III.						
	Board	R.	Flores,	President	of	the
	2000					
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of t	he Board					

Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., Witness