



NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT MEMORANDUM

TO: John Hopson Jr., President

Members of the Board

THROUGH: David Vadiveloo, Superintendent DSV

FROM: Chelsie Overby, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent

DATE: November 20, 2024

SUBJECT: State Board of Education & Early Development - Memo No. SB25-098

Second Judicial District Appointment (Action Item)

NSBSD Strategic Plan Summary:

1.0 Family & Community Collaboration: Prioritize and implement intentional and purposeful partnerships.

Issue Summary:

Governor Dunleavy appointed Kimberly Bergey, a resident of Palmer in the third judicial district, as the representative of the second judicial district that serves Nome, North Slope, Bering Straits, the Northwest Arctic, and the school districts within those boundaries.

The previous State Board member for the second judicial district was Jeffrey Erickson, a resident of Unalakleet, whose term ended March 1, 2024 and whose seat had been vacant until July 29.

The At-Large seat on the State Board has been vacant since May 2024.

State Board member terms are set to serve five-years, however, they may be reappointed by the Governor. As a joint effort, Northwest Arctic Borough School District (NWABSD), Bering Straits School District (BSSD), Nome School District, and our District would submit one letter regarding the State Board of Education appointment urging Governor Dunleavy to rescind the appointment of Kimberly Bergey as the Second Judicial District representative and appoint a resident of the second judicial district to the State Board of Education.

Background:

Appointments to the Alaska State Board of Education & Early Development are outlined in AS 14.07.085 where members of the State Board shall be appointed by the governor subject to confirmation by a majority of the members of the legislature in a joint session. One member shall be appointed from each of the four judicial districts and three from the state at large, with at least one member representing regional education attendance areas.

State Board of Education & Early Development

- First Judicial District Sally Stockhausen, First Vice Chair (Term 2026)
- Second Judicial District Kimberly Bergey (Term 2029)
- Third Judicial District Lorri Van Diest, Second Vice Chair (Term 2025)
- Fourth Judicial District Barbara Tyndall (Term 2028)





- At Large (REAA) James K. Fields, Chair (Term 2028)
- At Large *Vacant*
- At Large Pamela Dupras (Term 2028)
- Military Advisor LTC James Fowley
- Student Advisor Joshua Pak
- Student Advisor Elect Vacant

Proposed Motion:

"I move that the NSBSD Board of Education approve the letter to Governor Dunleavy regarding the reconsideration of the second judicial State Board representative appointment as described in memo no. SB25-098 and related attachments."

| Moved by | Seconded by |
|---------------|-------------|
| Advisory Vote | Vote_ |

