Minutes of Regular Meeting May 10, 2022 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, May 10, 2022 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Unity School District Board Room.

1. **6:00 p.m.** Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, James Beistle, Pat Kastens, Victoria Studtmann,

Sheryl Holmgren, Jeromy Cox

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Brandon Robinson

Members Absent: Ryan Peterson

2. Consideration to Suspend Regular Session and Convene Closed Session for the Purpose of WI § 19.85 (1)(c) in considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility.

Motion to approve the agenda by Jeromy Cox.

Second by James Beistle.

a.Roll Call

Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson (yes), Sheryl Holmgren(yes), Ryan Peterson (no), Victoria Studtmann(yes), Pat Kastens(yes), James Beistle (yes)

- b. Approval of Closed Minutes April 12, 2022 Regular Board of Education Meeting
- c. Approval of Closed Minutes April 28, 2022 Special Board of Education Meeting
- c. Personnel § 19.85 (1)(c)
 - 1) Consideration of Notice of Final Non-Renewal of Certified Staff
- d. Adjourn Closed Session
- e. Convene Regular Session
- 3. Possible Action on Recommendation(s) from Closed Session

The Board issued some final notices of non-renewal for certified staff members for licensure and financial reasons. The Board is withholding the names of the recipients until they are notified.

- 4. **6:25PM** Board will attend ADP Graduation in the Performing Arts Center
- 5. **6:30PM** ADP Graduation Ceremony, Unity Performing Arts Center
- 6. **7:00PM** Remaining Closed Session Items If Applicable
- 7. **7:00PM** (Approx.) Citizens' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Max. of 3 min. Items must be germane to the agenda. Because this is a meeting streamed live via Zoom, no in-person comments will be permitted. Any written comment must be submitted by email to brobinson@unity.k12.wi.us by NOON on Tuesday, May 11, 2021. Such comments will be provided to the Board of Education for consideration and review.)

No comments received.

- 8. Reorganization
 - a. Election of Officers

Motion to suspend the rules and maintain the current Board of Education Officer positions by Pat Kastens.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Board Committee Appointments

- c. Representative Appointments to School Standing Committees
- d. Election to Board Member to CESA Board of Control

A unanimous Pat Kastens/Jeromy Cox motion approved for James Besitle as the CESA Board of Control delegate.

- e. Appoint WASB Delegate and Alternate
- f. Appoint Recording Secretary for 2022-2023

A unanimous Pat Kastens/James Beistle motion approved for Amanda Warner as the Board Recording Secretary.

9. Board of Education Member Update

10. **Information**

- a. Submitted Reports
 - 1) Committee Reports
 - 2) Principal Reports
- b. District Administrator's Report Mr. Brandon Robinson
 - Summer School Update
 - Summer Maintenance

11. Consent Agenda

a. Approval of Minutes, April 12, 2022

Motion to Approve the April 12, 2022 Minutes by Pat Kastens.

Second by Victoria Studtmann.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts

Motion to Approve the April 2022 Activity Accounts by Sheryl Holmgren.

Second by James Beistle.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote

c. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the April 2022 Vouchers by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Jeromy Cox.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

d. Financial Report – Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to Receive the April 2022 Financial Report by James Beistle.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- e. Personnel
 - 1) Consideration and Approval of Various Hires, Retirements, and Resignations, including but not limited to:
 - a) Cheyanne Signsworth, Resignation Kindergarten Teacher

Motion to approve the Resignation of Cheyanne Sigsworth by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

*Additional Resignations and Retirements:

Motion to approve the Resignation of Stacy Matson, Elementary Teacher, by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion Carries by unanimous voice vote.

Motion to approve the Retirement of Douglas Ramich, School Councelor, by James Beistle, with appreciation of his 32 years of service.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion Carries by unanimous voice vote.

Motion to approve the Resignation of Laura Schwandt, Elementary Teacher, by Jeromy Cox.

Second by Victoria Studtmann.

Motion Carries by unanimous voice vote.

12. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 7:25 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Pat Kastens, School Board Clerk