AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., May 15, 2018, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent:

Delma Abalos Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, Roy Garcia, Carolyn

Gonzalez, Ann McClarty, Brian Moersch, David Morris, Todd Vesely,

Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Sheryl Mahaffey, Christine & Christopher Dockall,

Katelyn Dockall, Shivani Alur, Jonathan Dominguez, Sherry Palmer, Carolyn Clair, Gerardo Ramirez, Lisa Wills, Richard Morton, Mary Morton, Ryan Morton, Kristin Morton, Nicole Domingo, Viola Taylor, Debbie Bynum, Jacob Menchaca, Stephanie & Kyle Bachman, Marco Martinez & Family, Crispin & Donna Dominguez, Aimee Munoz, Mariela Romero, Kaylee Nunez, Alfredo Nunez, Judy Nunez, Luis Nunez, Annette Macias, Nora Martinez, Iris Huerta, Nancy Vanley, Mary Neff, Rene Barrientes, Ysmael Lujan, Elaine Sparks,

Cynthia McNabb, Mary Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Board President Carol Gregg, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Lamar Early Education Center Students Michelle Moore and Travis (TJ) Tyrone.

24180 Invocation: Invocation was led by Reverend Dr. John Copeland, Crescent Park Baptist Church.

24181 Special Presentations:

Introduction of the Top 10 Graduates from George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa, Permian High School, and Odessa High School: The Top 10 Graduates from George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa, Permian High School and Odessa High School were introduced by their respective principals:

The Top 10 Graduates from George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa

- 1) Serena Hernandez
- 2) Saray Navarrete
- 3) Blake Dominguez
- 4) Natalie Sielgler

Regular Board Meeting May 15, 2018

- 5) Jasmine Lopez
- 6) Carina Heredia
- 7) Diane Marquez Venegas
- 8) Yasmin Villa
- 9) Jessie Ross
- 10) Jaden Gaddis

The Top 10 Graduates from Permian High School

- 1) Kristin Morton
- 2) Marco Martinez
- 3) Nicole Domingo
- 4) Kayla Owen
- 5) Megan Freeman
- 6) Jacob Menchaca
- 7) Braylynn Carrion
- 8) Stephen M. Steen, III
- 9) Calyha Brown
- 10) Marissa Williams

The Top 10 Graduates from Odessa High School

- 1) Shivani Alur
- 2) Jazmine Brito
- 3) Areli Romero
- 4) Kaylee Nunez
- 5) Genesis Martinez-Morales
- 6) Angelina Jimenez
- 7) Aimee Munoz Romero
- 8) Katelyn Dockall
- 9) Nathan Sanchez-Juarez
- 10) Jonathan Dominguez
- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting. [7:06 7:06 p.m.] Structure Voting: 1 minute
- Request for Approval to Allow the University of Texas of the Permian Basin to Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Major Donors: Moved by Abalos, seconded by Smith to allow The University of Texas of the Permian Basin to Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Major Donors as presented.

 [7:06 7:21 p.m.] Structure Voting: 15 minutes

For: Against: Abstained: Abalos Beaty Minyard

Gregg Brown

Smith Woodall

Motion passed.

Presentation of STARR and EOC: Director of Accountability, Assessments and School Improvement Annette Macias presented early STARR and End of Course exam results. Ms. Macias reported that the only scores returned from the state so far are the first round of 5th & 8th grade Reading & Math results and that the May testing results will be known in June. She pointed out the three schools in 5th-year Improvement Required had made good gains although we are looking at more than just the number of kids who pass each test; the state's focus is on growth and three different standards of achievement. [7:21 – 7:36 p.m.] Vision – Goal Monitoring: 15 minutes

No action required.

(Board Member Delma Abalos departed and was absent for the remainder of the meeting.)

Request for Approval to Change Board Work/Study and Regular Board Meeting Dates for August 2018: Moved by Smith, seconded by Brown to approve to Change Board Work/Study and Regular Board Meeting dates for August 2018 as presented. [7:36 – 7:37 p.m.] Structure – Voting: 1 minute

For: Absent: Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion carried.

Request for Approval of the Board of Trustees Monthly Monitoring Calendar: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Brown to approve the Board of Trustees Monthly Monitoring Calendar as presented.

[7:37 – 7:37 p.m.] Structure – Voting: 1 minute

For: Absent: Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion carried.

<u>24187</u> Request for Approval of Appointment of TASB Delegate and Alternate:

Moved by Brown, seconded by Smith to approve appointment of Doyle Woodall as Delegate and Nelson Minyard as Alternate of the Delegate Assembly of the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB).

[7:37 – 7:38 p.m.] Structure – Voting: 1 minute

For: Absent: Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion carried.

<u>24188</u> Request for Approval of Low Attendance Waiver: Moved by Smith, seconded by Brown to approve the Low Attendance Waiver as presented.

[7:38 – 7:38 p.m.] Structure – Voting: 1 minute

For: Absent: Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion carried.

<u>24189</u> Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Smith, seconded by Woodall to approve Consent Agenda as presented.

[7:38 – 7:38 p.m.] Structure – Voting: 1 minute

1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

April 17, 2018 - Public Meeting

April 18, 2018 - Public Meeting

April 24, 2018 – Regular Board Meeting

April 26, 2018 – Special Board Meeting

April 30, 2018 - Special Board Meeting

May 08, 2018 – Board Work Study Meeting

May 15, 2018 - Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Report

- 5. Request for Approval of 2016 Insurance Roof Removal and Replacement for Alternative Education Center, Lamar Early Education and Print Shop
- 6. Request for Approval of RFP for School Nutrition Operations Software
- 7. Request for Approval of MOU between Ector County ISD and Intercultural Development Research Association (IDRA) for the Coca-Cola Valued Youth Program at Odessa High School
- 8. Request for Approval of Permian High School Boys Gymnastics Out-of-State Travel to Tempe, Arizona
- 9. Request for Approval of Board Policy CDA(Local) Other Revenues: Investments (Second Reading)
- 10. Request for Approval of Tax Foreclosed Property

For: Absent: Beaty Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion carried.

Request for Approval of Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 24190 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No session held.

24191 **Adjournment:** Board President Carol Gregg adjourned the Board meeting at 7:38 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Carol Grega	Donna C. Smith

Carol Gregg

LSG Time Use Tracker Totals

Structure – Voting: 21

Vision – Constraint Monitoring: N/A

Vision – Student Outcome Goal Monitoring: 15 minutes

Accountability – Board Self-Evaluation: N/A