AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM. 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., AUGUST 20, 2019, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:

Absent:

Carol Gregg

Delma Abalos Dr. Steve Brown Tammy Hawkins Nelson Minyard Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

- School Officials: Dr. Scott Muri, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, Dr. Stephanie Howard, Dr. Lilia Náñez, Dr. Gregory Nelson, Alicia Syverson, Dr. Kellie Wilks, Patrick Young
- Others: Mike Atkins, Pete Carrillo, Shelby Carrillo, Kenneth Davis, Julia Willett-Weekly, Heather Morales, Nancy Vanley, Bernadette Barragan, Marissa Diaz, Elisha Moberly, Annette Macias, Stacy Johnson, Michael Hawley, Robert Cedillo, Dalia Benavides, Alicia Press, Lisa Wills, Ruth Campbell, Mary Franco
- Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna C. Smith, Board President, called the Board 24819 of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- 24820 Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Gale Pond Alamo STEAM Academy Students Demry Gatewood and Levi Melchor.
- 24821 **Invocation:** Invocation was led by Reverend Lyndel Lee, Tanglewood Baptist Church

24822 **Special Presentations:**

Odessa Collegiate Academy Student Deidre Morales Participated in the International Space Station Research and Development Summit Panel: Odessa Collegiate Academy Student Deidre Morales was recognized for her participation in the International Space Station Research and Development Summit Panel. Trustees also recognized her teacher and chaperone for the trip, Elizabeth Grav.

All State Middle School Choir Selections: Director of Fine Arts Dr. Aaron Hawley introduced the All State Middle School Choir Selections.

Crockett MS Victoria Carrillo Matthew Rojo

Nimitz MS Kendra Burton

Wilson & Young Medal of Honor Frica Jeanne Morales

Ector County ISD named as one of the Best Communities for Music Education by National Music Merchants Association Foundation: Ector County ISD was recognized for being named one of the BEST Communities for Music Education by the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) for the 5th year in a row.

New Tech Odessa Teacher Given West Texas Geology Foundation Most Outstanding: New Tech Odessa Teacher Bernadette Barragan was named as the West Texas Geology Foundation Most Outstanding Science Teacher.

24823 Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna C. Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

Action Items

24824 Discussion of and Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #1: Moved by Abalos, seconded by Brown to approve the Budget Amendment as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

24825 Discussion of and Request for Approval of Boundary Modifications for Jordan Elementary and Buice Elementary: Moved by Hawkins, seconded by Minyard to approve the Boundary Modifications for Jordan Elementary and Buice Elementary as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

24826 Discussion of and Request for Approval to Endorse Board of Trustee Dr. Steve Brown to Fill a Position on the TASB Board of Directors: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Hawkins to Endorse Board of Trustee Dr. Steve Brown to Fill a Position on the TASB Board of Directors as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Consent Agenda

- **24827** Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Hawkins to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
 - A. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

July 16, 2019 – Regular Board Meeting

- B. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- C. Discussion of and Request for Approval of UIL Exemption List for the 2019-20 School Year
- D. Discussion of and Request for Approval of 2019-2020 T-TESS Appraisers
- E. Discussion of and Request for Approval of Gallagher Pricing Amendment for Property and Casualty Insurance

- F. Discussion of and Request for Approval of Annual Investment Report
- G. Discussion of and Request for Approval of Permian High School Cantus (Men's Choir) Student Out-of-State Travel to Little Rock, Arkansas
- H. Discussion of and Request for Approval of Odessa High School Bronchettes Student Out-of-State Travel to New Orleans, Louisiana

Motion unanimously approved.

Report Items

24828 Discussion of Teacher Shortage: Superintendent of Schools Dr. Scott Muri and Dr. Stephanie Howard provided Trustees with an update on the teacher shortage. School started this week with 349 teacher vacancies. The District began planning for this shortage in the spring and developed a series of solutions to help schools fill in the gaps. The District also expanded recruiting efforts and is utilizing more fast-track certification programs to train teachers quickly without sacrificing quality.

No action required.

24829 Discussion of School Accountability Ratings: Superintendent of Schools Dr. Scott Muri along Executive Director of Accountability & Assessment Annette Macias and Deputy Superintendent Dr. Stephanie Howard presented this item for discussion. Ms. Macias reported on the 2018-19 accountability ratings and provided an explanation of the accountability system, reviewed the district's ratings, and looked at priorities identified in the needs assessment conducted last spring. Dr. Muri and Dr. Howard spoke on how from a District level we are addressing the needs. Dr. Muri pointed out the items singled out for improvement are investments in people because that is where long-term success comes from. He said our students deserve excellence every day; excellent teachers and excellent leaders.

No action required

24830 Possible Request for Approval to Move to Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee of the District; or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or employee.] (Routine Personnel Report):

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 7:32 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 7:54 p.m.

<u>24831</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith adjourned the Board meeting at 7:55 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith Board Secretary Tammy Hawkins