

Hays Consolidated Independent School District Hays, Travis, and Caldwell Counties, Texas

A RESOLUTION NOMINATING DR. ERIC WRIGHT FOR THE TEXAS ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL BOARDS SUPERINTENDENT OF THE YEAR

WHEREAS, Dr. Eric Wright has served as the superintendent of schools for Hays Consolidated Independent School District since January 2018, which is more than three years; is a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA); is in a district whose board is an active Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) member; is certified and meets the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) continuing professional education requirements, and will be an active superintendent at the time of the next txEDCON; and

WHEREAS, During his 36-year career as an educator in Texas, including more than half of that time as a superintendent of schools, Dr. Eric Wright has and continues to display exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance, strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in the district, and is committed to public support and involvement in education; and

WHEREAS, Education is in Dr. Eric Wright's DNA, having a father who was a retired public school superintendent, a mother who is a retired public school nurse, and a spouse who is a retired public school principal and academic leader; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Eric Wright, as the longest-serving superintendent in the district in a quarter of a century, has provided essential stability in a rapidly growing district during some of the most challenging times in history for public school educators; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Eric Wright's unwavering mission is to ensure that every student feels empowered, has opportunities to pursue interests, is equipped for success, has outlets for creative expression, develops a strong foundation in fundamental skills, feels a sense of belonging and inclusion, and is prepared for life beyond graduation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

The Board of Trustees for the Hays Consolidated Independent School District proudly and enthusiastically nominates Dr. Eric Wright, superintendent of schools, for his exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance in our schools, to be considered for the prestigious honor of being named the Texas Association of School Boards Superintendent of the Year.

ADOPTED THIS 2nd DAY OF APRIL 2024

Will McManus, President of the Board of Trustees

Raul Vela, Jr., Vice President

Courtney Runkle, Secretary

Johnny Flores, Trustee

Byron Severance, Trustee

Esperanza Orosco, Trustee

Vanessa Petrea, Trustee