DRAFT

Minutes of the January 25, 2021 – School Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a workshop session on January 25, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Anthony Hill; David Caviness (5:35 PM); Manish Sethi and Neena Biswas (5:32 PM).

Trustee Tracy Fisher attended the meeting virtually.

A quorum was present.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar, Dr. Angie Applegate, Kristen Streeter, Greg Axelson, Amanda Simpson, Angela Brown, and James Holloway

Notice of this meeting was posted on January 22, 2021 at 11:00 a.m.

OPEN FORUM

The following individuals addressed (in-person) or provided a written statement to be read by a staff member to the Board of Trustees in Open Forum section of the meeting:

- Angela Milligan in-person Budget concerns
- Dr. Andrey Kteily staff read Social Emotional Well Being of Kids
- Ann Dragon staff read New Tech High School
- Jessica Krehel staff read New Tech
- Adelina Romo in-person New Tech
- Payton Hoenig in-person Budget cuts, closing New Tech
- Sharan Sethi in-person IB budget cuts

WORK SESSION

Information on the 2021-2022 budget process was provided by Diana Sircar (Chief Financial Officer), Dr. Angie Applegate (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction), Angela Brown (Executive Director for Communications and Community Engagement), Kristen Streeter (Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services) and Dr. Greg Axelson, (Chief Operations Officer).

A brief recess was taken when electricity was lost in the boardroom and the meeting resumed at 8:09 p.m.

ACTION

Manish Sethi made a motion to approve the adoption of the modified Election Order calling a School Board Trustee Election on May 1, 2021 to correctly identify the Dallas County Elections

DRAFT

Administrators and Early Voting Clerk. The motion was seconded by David Caviness and passed 7-0.

At 8:42 p.m., President Nichole Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 8:50 p.m.

A motion to approve the Superintendent's recommendation for the employment of professional personnel was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by Manish Sethi. The motion carried 7-0.

Tracy Fisher made a motion to adjourn the meeting. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 8:51 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President	
Leigh Walker, Vice President	