Community Type Definitions

Districts are classified on a scale ranging from major urban to rural. Factors such as size, growth rates, student economic status, and proximity to urban areas are used to determine the appropriate group. All the charters are grouped together as one community type. The community types are:

- Major Urban The largest school districts in the state that serve the six metropolitan areas of Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, Fort Worth, Austin, and El Paso. Major urban districts are the districts with the greatest membership in counties with populations of 725,000 or more, and more than 35 percent of the students are identified as economically disadvantaged. In some cases, other size threshold criteria may apply.
- Major Suburban Other school districts in and around the major urban areas. Generally speaking, major suburban districts are contiguous to major urban districts. If the suburban district is not contiguous, it must have a student population that is at least 15 percent of the size of the district designated as major urban. In some cases, other size threshold criteria may apply.
- Other Central City The major school districts in other large, but not major, Texas cities. Other central city districts are the largest districts in counties with populations between 100,000 and 724,999 and are not contiguous to any major urban districts. In some cases, other size threshold criteria may apply.
- Other Central City Suburban Other school districts in and around the other large, but not major, Texas cities. Generally speaking, other central city suburban districts are contiguous to other central city districts. If the suburban district is not contiguous, it must have a student population that is at least 15 percent of the largest district enrollment in the county. Its enrollment is greater than 3 percent of the contiguous other central city district. In some cases, other size threshold criteria may apply.
- **Independent Town** The largest school districts in counties with populations of 25,000 to 100,000. In some cases, other size threshold criteria may apply.
- Non-Metro: Fast Growing School districts that are not in any of the above categories and that exhibit a five-year growth rate of at least 20 percent. These districts must have at least 300 students in membership.
- Non-Metro: Stable School districts that are not in any of the above categories, yet have a number of students in membership that exceeds the state median.
- **Rural** School districts that do not meet the criteria for placement into any of the above categories. These districts either have a growth rate less than 20 percent and the number of students in membership is between 300 and the state median, or the number of students in membership is less than 300.