

Board of Education

Minutes of Regular School Board Meeting The Board of Education

A Regular School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held March 25, 2019, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg B.

Ms. Susan McFerran, president, called the meeting to order. Other board members present were Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Mr. Greg Magness, Mr. Bill Hanesworth, Ms. Jeannie Cole, Mr. Wade Gilkey, and Ms. Talicia Richardson. Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Terry Morawski, Deputy Superintendent, Mr. Martin Mahan, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Campus Support, Dr. Barry Owen, Chief Academic Officer, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent were present.

A moment of silence was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Ms. McFerran read the mission statement.

The consent agenda included the minutes of the February 25 Regular School Board Meeting, and March 11 Called School Board Meeting, February Financial Report, and March Student Services Report.

Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Cole, to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Brubaker yielded to Mr. Mahan to present the professional staff recommendations. Mr. Mahan noted that there were no retirements or leaves of absence.

Resignations

Bowden, Vander Falcon, Maria Scott, Gregory Dicks, Jade

Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin, to accept the resignations as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

Employment

Dean, Megan

Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Cole, to approve the recommendation for employment as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

Recognitions

Ms. McFerran, Mr. Gilkey and Dr. Brubaker recognized the following students and staff.

March Superintendent's Star Award Winners: Navaeh Brown, sixth grader at Cavanaugh Elementary, Elaina Cheeks, kindergartener at Pike Elementary School, Jeremiah Greene, second grader at Ballman Elementary, Erik Henry, second grader at Beard Elementary, Dahna Leon, third grader at Sunnymede Elementary, Barry Lowrimore, Orr Elementary School, Christian Moreno, sixth grader at Fairview Elementary, Gabrielle Rhone, sixth grader at Tilles Elementary, and Alee Thongprachanh, sixth grader at Barling Elementary School

Southside Drama students earned three superior ratings at the annual Arkansas Thespian Festival.

Isabella Gilley, Superior, Stage Management,

Sadie Hanesworth and Ashleigh Mathews, Superior, Duet Musical,

Jacob Gates and Amaica Howard, Superior, Duet Acting

Amaica Howard was also named to serve on the student board for Arkansas State Thespians. The students also earned \$75,000 in scholarships.

Northside HOSA, Future Health Professionals, earned honors during the organization's state conference on March 4-6. HOSA's goal is to promote the healthcare industry and those who are interested in the field.

1st-Crystal Yeung and Darren Keuthirath - Community Awareness

1st- Kaitlyn Gilkey and Addison McDougal - Medical Innovation - Original

1st- Bernice Garcia, Tabatha Nguyen, Junelle Balagtas and Amber Keomany - Public Service Announcement

1st- Emily Austin, Ngoc Le, and Katie Pearson- Public Service Announcement

Sarah Tomlin is their sponsor, assisted by Olivia Jennings.

National Merit Finalists

Ryan Beallis, Vinh Nguyen and Madelene Riché have been named as 2019 National Merit Finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Only the top 1.25 percent of students are recognized as national merit semifinalists. Semi-Finalists then compete for the finalist designation.

Southside DECA students, advised by Adina Boatright, competed in State Competition, Southside DECA was recognized as a Gold-Level Chapter and for reaching the Thrive Level in their chapter's Promotional Campaign & Community Service Campaign. They are also the largest chapter in Arkansas. Of the 29 who competed, 27 were state finalists in their respective categories. Of the 27 state finalists, 19 qualify for national competition.

First place winners include:

Keaton Black - Business Finance

Parker Ross & Hudson Clark - Financial Service Team Decision-Making

The 2019 Arkansas PTA Reflections theme was "Heroes Around Me". As in years past Fort Smith Public Schools were well represented with dozens of entries and 31 winners. Three earned first place recognition.

Averi Bottjen, Cook Elementary PTA, Dance Choreography in the Middle School Division.

Beth Litherland, Woods Elementary PTA, Visual Arts in the Middle School Division

Sebastian Arevalo, Fairview Elementary PTA, Visual Arts in the Primary School Division.

Chaffin's 9th Grade Quiz Bowl team won their bracket in the 7A State Quiz Bowl Tournament. They are Jackson Wollschied, Vivian Apple, Zain Rana, Jacob Reeder, Dat Nguyen, Asher Gibson, Lindsey Garretson. Team Managers are Thess Holloway and Liv Todd. Jackson Wollscheid was also named the State MVP and Vivian Apple was named the 2nd Overall All Star. Their sponsors are Logan Hoopes and Travis Minor.

The Chaffin Science Bowl Team advances to competition in Washington, D.C. in April with a regional win in National Science Bowl competition. More than 14,000 students on hundreds of Science Bowl Teams compete for 16 spots in a series of 111 regional middle and high schools tournaments across the country. Congratulations to Zain Rana, Lance Roffine, Eshal Khan, Parker Daffron and Tu Nguyen. Their sponsors are Logan Hoopes and Travis Minor.

American Choral Music Directors Association National Honor Choir

Northside High School's Angel Keohacksa and Southside High School's Avery Laster were recognized for their selection to the National American Choral Music Directors Association's National Honor Choir. They were selected to participate through competitive auditions. The concert was held in March in Kansas City. Kathryn Featherston and Gaye McClure Mings are their teachers.

Ms. Featherston Marshall announced School Choice deadline and Kindergarten registration dates. She announced the upcoming Ambassador Tour, inviting folks to sign up for that.

Dr. Brubaker reported that the Personnel Policy Committee (PPC) met on February 28. He reported that American Arbitration Association (AAA) oversaw the election and the results were reviewed. He reported that Ryan Gray was elected as chair and Jennifer Lyon was elected as secretary until Fall of 2019. Dr. Brubaker reported that he and Ms. Penix, Human Resources Supervisor met with Ryan Gray and Jennifer Lyon on March 12 and that the PPC was scheduled to meet again on April 4.

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

There was no one present for citizens' participation.

PRESENTATION - VISION 2023 CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

Mr. Morawski reviewed the process to hire contractors and construction companies. Mr. Jay Kirkpatrick introduced Mr. Steven Sparling, Senior Project Manager. Dr. Morawski and Mr. Jay Kirkpatrick presented an update on Vision 2023 Capital Improvement projects. Mr. Russ Fason, WER Architects, presented the proposed design on summer projects.

BOARD MEMBERS FORUM

Ms. McFerran suggested scheduling a tour of the Arkansas College of Health Education.

Ms. McFerran expressed thanks to Dr. McDonald for the presentation on Career and Technology Education at the March 11 meeting.

Ms. Richardson thanked Mr. Warren for providing a detailed activity report to board members.

Δ	וח	0	П	R	N
~	u	v	u		w

ADJOURN	
There was no further business and the meeting adju	ourned at 6:35 p.m.
	Susan McFerran, President
	Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Secretary