

The Kent ISD School Board held a special meeting at the Kent Conference Center on Monday, March 17, 2025. President Haidle called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Members Present: Drake, Hamming, Featherston, Rettig, Haidle. Member Absent:

Kent ISD Staff Present: Superintendent Gorman, Assistant Superintendent Rodgers, Directors Burns and Houtman, and Recording Secretary Lovell.

Guest: Caylee Jansons, Kristie Schrotenboer, Bob Persky, Trent Taylor, Roger Bearup, Anne McCarthy, Joseph Pietrowski, Ronald Dennino, Peg Becker, Carol Bronson, Donna Johnson, Joseph Sierawski, William Gunter, Nick Brock, Katherine Oster, Amy Gardine, Sally VanEck, Max Poelman, Jacqueline Poehlman, Lynn Janson, Jill Vaandering, Ed Vaandering.

President Haidle welcomed visitors and shared the process for appointing the open seat for the Grandville Public Schools Board of Education.

President Haidle invited members of the public to comment. Caylee Jansons, Laurie Cotto, Kristie Schrotenboer, Bob Persky, Trent Taylor, Anne McCarthy, Carol Bronson, and Jacqueline Poehlman provided public comment.

An interview with Ms. Amy Campbell began at 5:20 and ended at 5:36 pm.

An interview with Ms. Mary Gunther began at 5:37 and ended at 5:55 pm.

Board Members had the opportunity to discuss and deliberate the candidates' responses.

A motion was made by Member Featherston, supported by Member Drake, to table the decision to appoint a board member and amend the process to review the nineteen applications and choose six applicants to interview before making a selection.

Ayes: Featherston, Drake Nays: Hamming, Rettig, Haidle *Motion not carried* 

A motion was made by Member Hamming, seconded by Member Rettig to appoint Amy Campbell to the open seat on Grandville Public Schools Board of Education following Barb Palmer's resignation.

Ayes: Rettig, Hamming, Drake, Featherston, Haidle Nays: None *Motion declared to have carried.* 

President Haidle adjourned the meeting at 6:13 p.m.



KENT INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT Kent Conference Center 1633 East Beltline NE Grand Rapids, MI 49525 March 17, 2025

Minutes approved on April 21, 2025

Andrea Haidle, President

Anne Hamming, Secretary

/ml