## Regular Board Meeting Minutes September 16, 2019

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Joanna Horton at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Joanna Horton, Jeremy Hatcher, Nancy Duggan, Chantz

Dagley, John Copeland, Todd Peavy, Chris Taliaferro

Board members absent: None

Administrators attending: James Sanders, Chad Collins, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail

Crow, Adan Casas, Grant Miller, Kandy Shirey, Eric Scott

The board of trustees recognized the maintenance staff for their hard work.

Peavy made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve All Matters Incident and Related to Setting the 2019 Property Tax Rate including the adoption of an order setting such tax rate a \$1.068350 for Maintenance and Operations and \$0.16 cents for Debt Service. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Peavy made a motion to adopt Update 113 leaving CRB (Local) as it is stated at this present time in policy. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to allow the superintendent to apply for Maximum Class Size Exception Waivers from the Commissioner of Education, as needed, for grades K-4. Copeland seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the Resolution Creating Lily Scurry Reinvestment Zone. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried (5-2) **For**: Horton, Hatcher, Duggan, Copeland, Dagley **Against:** Peavy and Taliaferro

Hatcher made a motion to set the Lily Solar Fee at \$1,000. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1) **For**: Horton, Hatcher, Duggan, Copeland, Dagley, Peavy **Against**: Taliaferro

Hatcher made a motion to accept the application of Lily Solar, LLC for an Appraised Value Limitation on Qualified Property; authorize the Superintendent to review the Application for completeness and submit to the Comptroller; and authorize the Superintendent to enter into any agreement to extend the deadline for Board action beyond 150 days subject to Board ratification. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1). For: Horton, Hatcher, Duggan, Copeland, Dagley, Peavy Against: Taliaferro

Hatcher made a motion to approve the reassignment of the consultants who have been assisting the District with application for the Appraised Value Limitation on Qualified Property from Lily Solar, LLC. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1). **For:** Horton, Hatcher, Duggan, Copeland, Dagley, Peavy **Against**: Taliaferro

Duggan made a motion to approve the 2019-2020 Textbook Committee. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the Real Estate Sales Contract for property located at 9889 FM 148, Scurry, Texas. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1) **For:** Horton, Hatcher, Duggan, Copeland, Dagley, Peavy **Against**: Taliaferro

James Sanders, superintendent and Cindy Wiedemann, assistant superintendent Business and Finance discussed the information items with the board of trustees.

Gail Crow, director of Teaching, Learning, and Curriculum, discussed STAAR scores and the Telpas Report with the board.

The board was called into executive session on September 16, 2019 by President Joanna Horton according to Section 551.074 and Section 411.1901 of the Texas Open Meeting Act at 7:55 pm to discuss personnel and safety.

The board returned to open session at 8:28 pm.

Hatcher made a motion to approve the Safety Committee Members. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Adjourned – 8:29 pm	
Joanna Horton, Board President	Nancy Duggan, Board Secretary