AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, 7:00 P.M., January 20, 2004, with the following members:

Present: Delma Abalos **Absent:** Carol Gregg

Paula Ahders Phil Fouche Floy Hinson Dr. Bill Rutherford

Tommy Salmon

School Officials: Roy C. Benavides, Ed.D., Hector Mendez, Larry Edwards, Wendell Sollis,

Bruce Revell, Raymond Starnes, David Finley, Sue Ferguson, Dr. Donnie

Norwood, Gay Jenkins, Charles Nail

Others: Steve Tercero, Andrea Martin, Sylvia Sanchez, Tommy Harrison,

Natividad Armendarez, Bruce Almond, Priscilla Joe, Lety Martinez, Dave Davis, Tonya Tillman, James Silvester, Marsha Dry, Bill Lightfoot, Sam Saenz, Curtis Britt, Debbie Christenson, Billie Mayfield, Ron Leach, Granla McKelvain, Tonya Houston, Brian Rosson, David Morris, Veronica Robinson, Chuck Isner, Kenney Ross, Yadira Gonzalez, Gilbert Vasquez, Mike Atkins, Adela Vasquez, Raechel Leone, Ann Suiter, Nelda

Guerra

<u>Meeting Called to Order:</u> Delma Abalos, Board President, called the Board

Meeting to order.

<u>Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags</u>: The pledges of

Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by, Burnet Elementary School students, Alicia Gatlin and Tyler Brooker.

Invocation: Floy Hinson, Board Member, gave the invocation.

18548 Special Presentations:

Harp Ensemble Recognition –

Charles Nail, Executive Director for Fine Arts, recognized Harpist Molly Allred for her performance to the Board of Trustees. Mr. Nail also recognized Dr. Swaroop Rani for her \$2,800 donation to the Harp Booster Club.

Board Appreciation Recognition –

Mike Atkins, past-Mayor, read Governor Rick Perry's proclamation in recognition of Board Appreciation Month.

A video presentation of the Board of Trustees was viewed.

The following elementary students and staff presented gifts of appreciation to the Board Members:

Gale Pond/Alamo Elementary
San Jacinto Elementary
Elementary Magnet School at Reagan
Austin Montessori Elementary
Johnson Elementary
Elementary Magnet School at Noel
Odessa High School

Technical Education Center Students' Recognition -

The following Technical Education Center students were recognized for their work and contribution of the Barbara Jordan Center sign:

Leo Vargas Mary Briggs Shawn Hogan David Christenson

Walmart and Food Bank Recognition of \$4,000 Grant -

Delores Holder, Walmart representative, and Robert Bush and Linda Cameron, Food Bank representatives, received the Superintendent's Community Service Award for their contribution of a \$4,000 Grant.

Sewell Ford Recognition of \$4,500 Grant to SAS -

Sherrilyn Little, Denise Haynes, and Regina Hollinshead from Sewell Ford received an award for their \$4,500 Grant contribution to the Student Assistance Services. Elaine Randolph and Leticia Bernal represented the Student Assistance Services.

Texas Association for Pupil Transportation Recognition of Angie Jimenez –

David Morris, Director of Transportation, presented the Texas Association for Pupil Transportation Recognition Certificate to Angie Jimenez, Transportation Operations Manager.

March to the Roses - Band Directors' Appreciation -

Charles Nail, Executive Director for Fine Arts, recognized high school band directors Bill Harden and Michael Watts for their efforts and contributions in making the March to the Roses Parade a reality for students and the community.

Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Delma Abalos, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

- **Approval of Consent Agenda:** Moved by Rutherford, seconded by Salmon that the following Consent Agenda be approved:
 - 1. Superintendent's Agenda
 - 2. Minutes of Meeting
 - 3. Bills for Payment
 - 4. School Construction Report
 - 5. Acknowledgement of Donations and Gifts

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Election Order and Notice for May 15, 2004 Board of Trustees

Election: Moved by Fouche, seconded by Rutherford to approve the Election
Order and Notice for May 15, 2004 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of Annual Financial Report</u>: Moved by Salmon, seconded by Hinson to approve the ECISD Annual Financial Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Quarterly Investment Report: Moved by Rutherford, seconded by Salmon to approve the District Quarterly Investment Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Board Policy CFD(Local) Accounting: Activity Funds

Management and Board Policy FDB(Exhibit D) Admissions and Attendance:

Intradistrict Transfers: Moved by Fouche, seconded by Rutherford to approve Board Policy CFD(Local) Accounting: Activity Funds Management and Board Policy FDB(Exhibit D) Admissions and Attendance: Intradistrict Transfers as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **Board Policy for First Reading:** Larry Edwards, Assistant Superintendent for Staff Operations, presented the following Board Policy for first reading:
 - GKB(Exhibit A) Community Relations: Advertising and Fund Raising in the Schools.
- <u>Discussion of School Construction Updates/Tours:</u> David Finley, Executive Director of Facilities and Maintenance, presented an update on school construction projects.

Closed Meeting- Personnel Matters – Section 551.074 of the Texas
Government Code (Superintendent's Evaluation and Contract and Routine
Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment,
evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees
of the District]: Delma Abalos, Board President, convened the Board of

Trustees in Executive Session at 8:51 p.m.

Delma Abalos, Board President, stated the Board ended its closed or executive session at 9:53 p.m.

Take Action on Superintendent's Contract: Moved by Rutherford, seconded by Ahders to modify the superintendent's contract to include granting him an immediate 3% cost of living raise, granting him five (5) additional vacation days and five (5) additional sick days annually and extending his contract for one year.

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Fouche, seconded by Ahders to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18560 Adjournment: Delma Abalos, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 9:54 p.m.

Board President
Delma J. Abalos
Board Secretary
Floy B. Hinson