## TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 22, 2009

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, September 22, 2009, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

# CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Mike Clayborne who welcomed guests attending the meeting.

# ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

- Members Present: Mr. Mike Clayborne Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. John Nail Mr. Eddie Prather Mr. Lee Tucker
- Staff Present: Dr. Randy Shaver Mrs. Diana Ezell Dr. Fred Hill Dr. George Noflin Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Linda Pannell Mrs. Dale Warriner Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright Dr. Derwood Tutor Mr. Jim Turner Mrs. Julie Hinds Mrs. Kay Bishop Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Ms. Patrice Tate

## III. REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the September 22, 2009, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. National School Boards Association Conference April 10-12, 2010
- B. 2009-2010 Learn and Serve America Program Grant
- C. Consent Agenda
- D. Student Transfer Report

- E. Personnel Report
- F. Docket of Claims and Registers
- G. Financial Statements for Month Ending 8-31-09
- H. Mrs. Julie Hinds -- Certificate of Substantial Completion Joyner Elementary Classroom Addition
- I. Mrs. Linda Pannell Note Resolution for Qualified School Construction Bond
- J. Mrs. Dale Warriner Title I, Part D The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 Application
- K. Mrs. Brenda Meriweather Working Draft of the Proposed 2010-2013 TPSD Technology Plan
- L. Mrs. Linda Pannell and Mr. Paul Mize Workers' Compensation Insurance Carrier Change

### IV. Executive Session – Personnel, Legal and Student Matter

Board President Mike Clayborne suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing a personnel, legal and student matter.

On a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by President Mike Clayborne with the following people present: Mr. Mike Clayborne, Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. John Nail, Mr. Eddie Prather, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy Shaver, Mrs. Diana Ezell, Dr. George Noflin. Dr. Fred Hill, Mr. David Meadows, Mr. Jim Turner and Mrs. Linda Pannell

The Executive Session was called to order and the Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mr. Tucker the Board voted unanimously to remain in Executive Session for the purpose of discussing a personnel matter, a legal matter and a student matter.

Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mr. Clayborne reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into Executive Session was to discuss a personnel matter, a legal matter and a student matter.

Following the discussion of the legal matter, Mrs. Pannell left the meeting. Discussion continued regarding a personnel and student matter. No action was taken.

Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to come out of Executive Session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

#### V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Nail and duly seconded by Mr. Tucker that the Board adjourn. Mr. Clayborne declared the meeting in adjournment at 1:25 p.m.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mike Clayborne, President

Arlissa Heyer, Secretary