INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 917 Organizational and Regular School Board Meeting

The Organizational and Regular School Board Meeting of the Intermediate School District 917 School Board was held in the 917 Board Room at Dakota County Technical College on Tuesday, January 14, 2025, at 5:15 PM.

<u>Members Present:</u> David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester (to be sworn in at this meeting), Lisa Ehleringer, (to be sworn in at this meeting), Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek, Monica Weber, and ex-officio member Dr. Michael Favor.

Members Absent: Hannah Simmons

<u>Also Present:</u> Mark Johns, Melissa Schaller, Brooke Peterson, Marci Levy-Maguire, Linda Berg, Leia Ward, Nicole Flesner

The meeting was called to order at 5:53 PM by past board chair Cindy Nordstrom.

The Pledge of Allegiance was conducted in the work session prior to this meeting.

1. Motion by David Anderson, seconded by Tom Bennett, to approve the agenda. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

There were no visitors to be heard.

Linda Berg, Notary Public, administered the Oath of Office to reappointed Board members Lisa Ehleringer of Randolph and Lesley Chester of Burnsville

Past Chair Cindy Nordstrom asked for nominations for position of School Board Chair.

Motion by Mark Zuzek, to nominate Tom Bennett as Chair. There were no other nominations. Motion was seconded by Monica Weber, to nominate Tom Bennett as Chair. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

Tom Bennett assumed the position of Chair and proceeded with the meeting.

- Motion by Byron Schwab, to nominate Cindy Nordstrom, for the position of Vice Chair. There were no
 other nominations. Motion was seconded by David Anderson. Motion passed to elect Cindy Nordstrom
 as Vice Chair. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy
 Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 3. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom to nominate Lisa Ehleringer as Clerk. There were no other nominations. Motion was seconded by Mark Zuzek to elect Lisa Ehleringer as Clerk. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

- 4. Motion by Monica Weber, to nominate Byron Schwab as Treasurer. Motion was seconded by Cindy Nordstrom. There were no other nominations. Motion passed to elect Byron Schwab as Treasurer. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Lesley Chester to set the School Board meeting dates for February 2025 through January 2026 on the 1st Tuesday of each month (with the exception of June, July, November, December, and January which will be the second week) All work sessions begin at 4:30 PM. Regular Board meetings starts at 5:45 PM. (Addendum A.) Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 6. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lesley Chester, to designate the St. Paul Pioneer Press as the official newspapers for Intermediate School District 917 for 2025. (Addendum B.) The minutes will be summarized with the website address listed to view the official minutes. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 7. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Lesley Chester, to maintain the school board compensation for District 917 School Board Members at \$5150 and \$5665 for the Board Chair for January 2025 through December 2025 school year.
- 8. Motion by David Anderson, seconded by Byron Schwab to amend the motion to maintain the school board compensation and reduce the base pay by \$1200 (\$100 per meeting if not in attendance), effective July 1, 2025. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

The Memorandum of Agreement with our member districts was reviewed.

Committee assignments were reviewed. Board Member Mark Zuzek will be the representative for AMSD and MSBA.

- 9. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by David Anderson, to approve the consent items, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
 - Minutes: December 10, 2024, Regular School Board Meeting
 - Personnel: New Hires: Shannon Zywiec, Administrative Assistant SpEd, effective December 16, 2024.
 Britney Greeley, Education Support Professional, effective January 6, 2024. Resignation and terminations:
 Ben Harding, Education Support Professional, effective December 13, 2024. Allyssa Lind, education Support Professional, effective January 3, 2025.
- 10. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by Monica Weber, to approve the bills from December 1, 2024 through December 31, 2024, Investment Report and wire transfers, as presented by the Director of Finance. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 11. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lisa Ehleringer, to approve the Temporary Work Agreements, as presented by the Director of Finance. (Addendum C.) Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa

Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

- 12. The Accounts Receivable Aging Invoice was reviewed.
- 13. Cindy Nordstrom was appointed to the Calendar Committee.
- 14. Board member Lesley Chester introduced the following resolution and waived the reading: Resolution Recognizing Paraprofessional Week January 20-24, 2025. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by David Anderson, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum D.)
- 15. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by Byron Schwab, to approve the SHIP Grant as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Monica Weber, and Mark Zuzek. (Addendum E.) Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 16. Policies reviewed on a first reading basis: 601 School District Curriculum and Instruction Goals; 701 Establishment and Adoption of School District Budget; 721 Uniform Grant Guidance.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 6:20 PM
--

The next regular School Board Me	eting will be Tuesday, Fe	ebruary 4, 2025, at 5:45 PM.
Clerk		