Red Wing Public Schools 2451 Eagle Ridge Drive Red Wing, MN 55066



Phone 651.385.4500

www.redwing.k12.mn.us

Fax 651.385.4510

March 16, 2023

Attn: Jim Johnson, managing editor

For potential inclusion on the Republican Eagle Opinion Page, Saturday, March 25, 2023

For more information, contact Anne Robertson, communications manager, akrobertson@rwps.org

To the Editor:

As Red Wing School Board members, we took to heart the community's input as we hired a new superintendent.

The ideas, desires, hopes and goals that people expressed through the search survey and the listening sessions guided us from the moment applications closed. Our students, parents, teachers, staff, community members and leaders made clear that the next superintendent should

- lead collaboratively;
- champion diversity, equity and inclusion;
- understand budgeting and finance;
- be honest, ethical and transparent;
- Be out in the community:
- and be an effective communicator.

The Minnesota School Boards Association used these criteria when vetting the 15 candidates and then recommending the six that our board chose to interview. We cannot thank MSBA Director of Leadership Development and Executive Search Barb Dorn and consultant Craig Morris enough for helping us through the process, but especially in connecting our community to the process. Community input played another key role as Ms. Dorn and Mr. Morris helped us choose interview questions for the first and second rounds. In fact, the School Board took a couple of questions submitted directly from the listening sessions.

What you said mattered.

We are united and so pleased with our selection of Dr. Martina Wagner as Red Wing Public Schools' next leader. She will build a great team committed to providing Red Wing's future leaders with a quality education.

We believe the process worked so well because you, our community, made this your process. Together we will continue to move Red Wing Public Schools forward.

Jim Bryant, Chair
Pam Roe, Vice Chair
Jennifer Tift, Clerk
Rachel Marshall Schoenfelder, Treasurer
Terese Bjornstad
Nicky Buck
Anna Ostendorf