# Minutes of Regular Meeting May 14, 2024 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, May 14, 2024 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Unity School District Board Room.

- 1. **5:00 PM** ADP Graduation Ceremony, Unity Performing Arts Center
- 2. **6:00 PM** Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

**Members Present:** Debbie Ince-Peterson, Ryan Peterson, Pat Kastens, Victoria Studtmann, Mike Haroldson, Andrea Jerrick, Jeromy Cox

**Admin. Team Present:** 

**Members Absent:** 

3. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to Approve the Agenda by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- 4. Consideration to Suspend Regular Session and Convene Closed Session for the Purpose of WI § 19.85 (1)(c) in considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility.
  - a. Roll Call
  - b. Approval of Closed Minutes, April 9, 2024 Regular Board Meeting
  - c. Approval of Closed Minutes, April 29, 2024 Special Board Meeting
  - d. Personnel §19.85(1)(c)
    - 1) Employee Evaluation and Compensation
    - 2) Consideration of Final Notice of Non-Renewal of Certified Staff
    - 3) Superintendent Update
  - e. Adjourn Closed Session
  - f. Convene Regular Session
- 5. Possible Action on Recommendation(s) From Closed Session

The Board issued some final notices of non-renewal for certified staff members for licensure. The Board is withholding the names of the recipients until they are notified.

6. Residents' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Max. of 3 min. Items must be germane to the agenda. Any written comment must be submitted by email to kholden@unity.k12.wi.us by NOON on Tuesday, May 14, 2024. Such comments will be provided to the Board of Education for consideration and review.) (Board Policy 187 - Public Participation at Board Meetings)

No comments were received.

- 7. Reorganization
  - a. Election of Officers

President: A unanimous Pat Kastens/Jeromy Cox motion approved for

Debbie Ince-Peterson as the Board President.

Vice President: A unanimous Pat Kastens/Mike Haroldson motion approved for

Ryan Peterson as the Board Vice-President.

Treasurer: A unanimous Pat Kastens/Mike Haroldson motion approved for

Victoria Studtmann as the Board Treasurer.

Clerk: A unanimous Pat Kastens/Victoria Studtmann motion approved for

Andrea Jerrick as the Board Clerk.

- b. Board Committee Appointments
  - Budget & Finance Committee
  - Calendar Committee
  - Long-Range Planning Committee
  - Policy and Programming Committee

- Audit
- Title I
- c. Election of Board Member to CESA Board of Control

A unanimous Andrea Jerrick/Mike Haroldson motion approved for Debbie Ince-Peterson as the CESA Board of Control delegate.

d. Appoint WASB Delegate and Alternate

A unanimous Ryan Peterson/Victoria Studtmann motion approved for Andrea Jerrick to serve as the WASB delegate and Jeromy Cox as the WASB Alternate delegate.

e. Appoint Recording Secretary for 2024-2025

A unanimous Ryan Peterson/Andrea Jerrick motion approved for Amanda Warner as the Board Recording Secretary.

8. Board of Education Member Update

#### 9. **Information**

- a. Submitted Reports
  - 1) Administrative Reports
    - a. Elementary Principal Report Dr. William DeWitt
    - b. Middle School Principal Report Mr. Shaun Fisher
    - c. High School Principal Report Mr. Nicolas Been
      - 1. Teacher of the Year Washington D.C. Visit Report Mr. Brian Collins
    - d. Special Education Director Report Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen

#### 10. Consent Agenda

- a. Approval of Board of Education Meeting Minutes, April 9, 2024 Regular Board Meeting
- b. Approval of Board of Education Meeting Minutes, April 29, 2024 Special Meeting

Motion to Approve items 10.a-10.b by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts

Motion to Approve the April 2024 Activity Accounts by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

d. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the April 2024 Vouchers by Jeromy Cox.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Ryan Peterson abstained.)

e. Acceptance of Bank Balances - Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to Receive the April 2024 Financial Report by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- f. Personnel
  - 1) Consideration and Approval of Various Hires, Retirements, and Resignations, including but not limited to:
    - a. Extra Duty Resignation, Aaron Johnson Middle School Boys Basketball Coach
    - b. Resignation, Kendra Carlson Elementary Teacher
    - c. Resignation, Jaclyn Mackey High School Business Education Teacher
    - d. Resignation, Garth Olson High School Special Education Teacher

Motion by Victoria Studtmann to approve the Personnel items 10.f.1.a – 10.f.1.d with the addition of Rebekah Garin, Elementary Teacher.

Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Debbie Ince-Peterson abstained.)

### 11. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval of 2023-2024 Budget Adjustment - Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to approve the 2023-2024 Budget Adjustment by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Consideration and Approval of Grade Level Sections - Dr. William DeWitt

Motion by Ryan Peterson to approve the 2024-2025 Elementary Grade Level Sections as presented, with the ability to make changes as needed.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Consideration and Approval of Support Staff Compensation Plan - Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to approve the Support Staff Compensation Plan by Victoria Studtmann.

Second my Mike Haroldson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Andrea Jerrick abstained.)

d. Consideration and Approval of the District's 5-Year Non-Discrimination Self-Evaluation Summary - *Administrative Team* 

Motion to approve the District's 5-Year Non-Discrimination Self-Evaluation Summary by Ryan Peterson. Second my Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

## 12. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 8:19 p.m.