

Board Meeting Date: 11/4/2024

Title: Commendation of National Merit Scholarship Program Honorees

Type: Consent

Description: The National Merit program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. These students took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as juniors in the 2023-24 school year. The 8 Edina Semifinalists are among approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, representing the top half of one percent of the nation's most academically talented young people. Edina High School has had National Merit Finalists and Semifinalists each year since the National Merit Foundation's inception.

In addition, there are 22 Edina Commended Students who, though they will not continue in the competition for the 2025 National Merit Scholarship awards, are among the highest scorers, and in the top five percent of students who enter the competition by completing the PSAT/NMSQT. These students are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

Semifinalists and Commended students are announced in the fall when test takers are seniors. Finalists are announced in the spring before their graduation. Semifinalists proceed to the Finalist stage if they have a consistently strong academic record, write an essay, are endorsed and recommended by a school official, and take the SAT® or ACT® and earn a score that confirms the PSAT/NMSQT performance.

These students will be honored at a reception that will take place Friday, November 15, at Fick Auditorium.

Recommendation: Congratulate these Edina seniors as National Merit Scholarship Program honorees.

Attachments:

1. List of Honorees (next page)

National Merit Scholar Semifinalists

Claire Chen
Aarya Garimella
Ian Nordland
Jack O'Brien
Kaia Rogers
Joseph Vaccaro
Grace Wicklund
Sarah Yi

National Merit Scholar Commended Students

Afshaan Abu Giancarlo Angelats Micah Bozic **Devin Brandel** Lance Einhorn Zoya Hasan Shayna Horwitz **Grayson Irons** William Irwin Indra Khariwala Jackson Marston Colin McGrain Alexander Mollison Natalie Mosakowski Maya Nowak **Beckett Pursey** Caleb Samuel Benjamin Savageau William Teskey Tenpa Tsagong Olivia Wegmann-Krider

Maxwell Willmuth