# COLLIN COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

# **Meeting Minutes**

February 28, 2015

The Collin County Community College District ("Collin College" or "District") conducted a special called meeting of the Board of Trustees on Saturday, February 28, 2015, in the Board Room 139, Collin Higher Education Center, with Chairman Mac Hendricks presiding. Trustees in attendance were Ms. Stacy Anne Arias, Dr. J. Robert Collins, Mr. Steve Cone, Mr. Andy Hardin, Ms. Jenny McCall, Mr. Larry Wainwright, and Ms. Nancy Wurzman. Trustee Adrian Rodriguez was absent. Other attendees included Interim District President Colleen Smith, Vice Presidents Kim Davison and Dani Day, Executive Assistant to the District President/Secretary to the Board of Trustees Shirley Harmon, Media Technology Supervisor Tim Bowles, and Facility Plant Operations Manager David Campbell.

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chairman Hendricks called the February 28, 2015, meeting of the Board of Trustees of Collin County Community College District to order at 12:01 p.m. The meeting was originally posted to begin at 9 a.m.; however, due to inclement weather, the meeting was rescheduled to 12 p.m. Pursuant to the Texas Government Code 551.0411(b), the Board of Trustees was allowed to convene within 72 hours of the original date/time posted without having to re-post the meeting. The Board met at the Collin Higher Education Center, 3452 Spur 399, McKinney, Texas 75069.

#### ADJOURNMENT TO CLOSED OR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairman Hendricks recessed the meeting to closed session at 12:02 p.m. in Room 135, Board Conference Room, pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Section 551.071: Consultation with Attorney and 551.074: Personnel Matters – deliberate regarding the appointment/employment of a public officer or employee; specifically, deliberate regarding selection of the lone finalist for position of Collin County District President. Chair Hendricks noted that Trustee Rodriguez would join the board in the executive session discussion via telephone.

#### **RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION**

Chairman Hendricks reconvened the meeting at 3: 17 p.m. in Boardroom 139.

## **AGENDA ITEMS**

<u>2015-2-4-1 Consideration and Possible Announcement of the Lone Finalist for the</u>
Position of Collin College District President

BE IT RESOLV ED, that the Board of Trustees of Collin County Community College District announces the name of the lone finalist for District President.

Dr. Collins made the motion, seconded by Ms. Wurzman, to name Dr. Neil Matkin as the lone finalist for District President of Collin County Community College District. Chairman Hendricks called for the vote by show of hands. The motion passed on a vote of seven (7) for and one (1) against. Mr. Wainwright cast the opposing vote.

Chairman Hendricks said the process of hiring the District President had been a very eye opening experience. He said this was the purpose for which each board member was elected as well as being the stewards for the citizens of Collin County, a county that now totals almost a million people. The Board of Trustees has exercised the democratic process by going nationwide and assembling a group of candidates for the position of District President. Through a very concerted and deliberate effort, the board narrowed the candidates from 40 to seven to two. Today, the board has agreed after three hours of deliberation on a single finalist, Dr. Neil Matkin.

Chair Hendricks said Dr. Matkin and Dr. Ric Shrubb were both good candidates and the board had a real tough time coming to a conclusion, but it did so and now the board will move forward and support the next District President. He thanked the board members and everyone for their patience and contributions. He concluded his comments by saying that the Board of Trustees will continue to move Collin College forward as it has for the last 30 years.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS/ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Chairman Hendricks adjourned the February 28, 2015, meeting of the Board of Trustees of Collin County Community College District at 3:21 p.m.