Minutes State Board Meeting August 10, 2023

Present: Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair; Kathy Rollins, Vice-Chair; Adrienne Woods; Lisa Hunter; Randy Henderson; Steve Sutton, Jeff Wood, Jacob Olivia, ADE Secretary.

ZOOM: Leigh Keener

Absent: Ken Bragg; Capri Salaam, 2023 Teacher of the Year

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Thursday, August 10, 2023. Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair called the meeting to order at 8:59 AM, followed by a moment of silence.

Recognition

III.1. Martin Luther King Jr. Commission

Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) Secretary Jacob Oliva introduced Mr. Dushun Scarbrough, Director, Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission (Commission). The Commission consists of a staff of four and volunteers. Also present from the Commission were Mr. Tim Baker, Volunteer; and Ms. Tiffany Pettus, Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission Historian. Mr. Scarbrough presented to the State Board an informational update on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission's statewide community support and statewide projects.

Mr. Scarbrough invited anyone who wishes to volunteer to contact the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission at 888-290-KING or visit www.ARKingDream.org.

Chair Dr. Sarah Moore congratulated and welcomed new State Board members Mr. Ken Bragg, Sheridan, currently out of the country, and Ms. Leigh Keener, Little Rock, attending via ZOOM.

Changes to Agenda

Action Agenda

Added

V.4. Consideration of Extension of Act 1240 Waiver: Helena-West Helena School District

Pulled

V.1. School Choice Appeals under the Public School Choice Act of 2015 V.1.a. School Choice Appeal – Henry

Action Agenda

V.2 Arkansas Secondary Math Standards

Item V.2. was presented by Dr. Kiffany Pride, ADE Assistant Commissioner, Office of Learning Services. Also present from the Office of Learning Services – Office of STEM-Math were Ms. Kisa Morman, Public School Program Coordinator; Ms. Britney Nalley, State Math Specialist; Mr. Jeffrey Nesmith, State Math Specialist; and Ms. Bobbie Olles, Public School Program Advisor.

Consideration of secondary Math Standards is respectfully submitted to the State Board of Education for approval. Groups of educators, representative of the State, revised the standards for Algebra II, Algebra III, Technical Math, Quantitative Reasoning, Advanced Topics & Modeling, Statistics, Pre-Calculus, Calculus, and Critical Algebra I. Schools will fully implement in the 2023-2024 school year.

A motion to approve the Arkansas Secondary Math Standards was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

V.3. Annual ESC Reports

Item V.3. was presented by Ms. Stacy Smith, ADE Deputy Commissioner. Further clarification regarding approval of annual education service cooperative (ESC) reports was provided by Ms. Courtney Salas-Ford, ADE Chief of Staff.

Pursuant to the State Board meeting held on July 14, 2023, the State Board tabled consideration of ESC annual reports to consider all 15 ESC annual reports at the August 10, 2023, State Board meeting.

A motion to approve the following 14 ESC annual reports, except for the Arch Ford ESC annual report, was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Adrienne Woods. The motion unanimously passed:

- 1. Arkansas River ESC
- 2. Crowley's Ridge ESC
- 3. Dawson ESC
- 4. DeQueen-Mena ESC
- 5. Great Rivers ESC
- 6. Guy Fenter ESC
- 7. Northcentral Arkansas ESC

- 8. Northeast Arkansas ESC
- 9. Northwest Arkansas ESC
- 10. Ozarks Unlimited Resources ESC
- 11. South Central Service Cooperative
- 12. Southeast Arkansas ESC
- 13. Southwest Arkansas ESC
- 14. Wilbur D. Mills ESC

V.4. Consideration of Extension of Act 1240 Waiver: Helena-West Helena School District

Item V.4. was presented by Ms. Shastady Wagner, Division of Elementary & Secondary Education (DESE) Attorney Specialist. Also present was Dr. Keith McGee, Superintendent, and Ms. Traci Holland, Executive Director of Learning Services Administration. Ms. Stacy Smith, ADE Deputy Commissioner, provided further information to the State Board.

The Helena-West Helena School District is seeking a waiver of educator licensure. The district is seeking a waiver for a three-year period. The waiver will expire June 30, 2026.

A motion to approve the Act 1240 Waiver for Helena-West Helena School District was made by Mr. Steve Sutton, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.

V.5. Consideration of Request for Approval to Release Public Comment DESE Rules Governing School Safety

Item V.5. was presented by Ms. Shastady Wagner, Division of Elementary & Secondary Education (DESE) Attorney Specialist and Ms. Courtney Salas-Ford, ADE Chief of Staff.

The Division requests approval to release for public comment, pending Governor's office approval, the rules governing school safety, which incorporate the requirements of Ark. Code Ann. 6-10-121, 6-10-128, 6-15-1302, 6-151303, and 6-17-113.

A motion to release for public comment the Division of Elementary & Secondary Education Rules Governing School Safety, pending Governor's Office approval, was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

Consent Agenda

Items included for consideration in the Consent Agenda were as follows:

- 1. Minutes
 - a. Special State Board Meeting 07-07-23 Draft
 - b. State Board Regular Meeting 07-13-23 Draft
- 2. Report on Waivers to School Districts for the Teachers Teaching Out of Area for Longer than Thirty (30) Days, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-309
- 3. 2023-2024 Embedded Courses
- 4. Consideration of Amendment Request for Bauxite Miner Academy
- 5. Consideration of Amendment Request for Imboden Area Charter School
- 6. Review of Loan and Bond Applications
- Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-076 Michael Philpot
- 8. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-087 Caleb Spears
- 9. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-091 Cleveland Gordon, Jr.
- 10. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-104 Amber Duch
- 11. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-135 Colleen O'Connor

A motion to approve the Consent Agenda was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Mr. Steve Sutton. The motion unanimously passed.

New Business

None

Public Comments

The State Board heard public comments from:

Ms. Rosalind Mouser, Attorney, Pine Bluff

Ms. Trammell Howell, Former Parent Teacher Organization President, Pine Bluff

Dr. Sederick Charles Rice, Associate Professor-Biology, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Ms. Earlean Collins, 2015 Retired Assistant Principal, Pine Bluff High School

Ms. Mattie Collins, History Teacher – Retired, Pine Bluff High School

Mr. Gary Newton, President & CO (Ex-Officio)

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the State Board meeting was made by Mr. Steve Sutton, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed. Chair Ouida Newton adjourned the State Board meeting at 12:18 PM.

Minutes recorded by Angela Scaife.

Jacob Oliva, Secretary Arkansas Department of Education Ouida Newton, Chair State Board of Education