AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., December 15, 2009, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty, DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David

Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Mauricio Marquez, Carlton Johnson, Linda Smith. Aurora

Dominguez, Lisa Anaya, Rebecca Mull, Damon Jackson, Don Allen, Wilma Chastain, Tammy Stallcup, Omega Loera, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Lupe Hernandez, Ian Roark, Glenn DeMoss, Rey Lascano, Mary Martinez, Jennifer Oso, Olga Garza, Roy Garcia, Chuck Isner, Kathy Hassell, Mary Neff, Michael Adkins, Mike Barker, Al Harris, Roy Waggoner, Tryon Lewis, Mary Franco, Nelda

Lova

**Meeting Called to Order:** Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Blackshear Magnet Elementary School Students Logan Smith and Sabryn Aguilar.

**20774 Invocation:** Invocation was led by Reverend Don Allen, Grace Christian Church.

# **Special Presentations:**

# **Education Foundation Grant Recipients –**

Education Foundation 2009 Grant Recipients were recognized with a dinner prior to the Board Meeting.

## **United Way Recognitions –**

The following United Way Campaign top fund raising campuses and departments were recognized:

**Elementary:** Secondary:
Burleson - \$3959 Permian - \$5407

**Department:** 

Administration - \$8659

The District raised a total of \$101,773 for the 2009 United Way Campaign.

#### World Class Leader in Education Award -

The District's World Class Leader in Education Award was presented to Murry Fly 2<sup>nd</sup> grade bilingual teacher Manuela Herrera.

- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **Approval of Consent Agenda:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Pace that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>DCIT Discipline Sub-Committee Presentation</u>: Chuck Isner, Sub-Committee Chairperson, and Committee Member, Tammy Stallcup, made a presentation to the Board of Trustees with regard to the Discipline portions of the District Improvement Plan.
- **Request for Approval of Board of Trustees Goals:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins to approve the Board of Trustees Goals as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20780 Request for Approval of Weighted and Dual-Credit Courses: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Norwood to approve the Weighted and Dual-Credit Courses for the 2010-2011 school year, as presented.

Regular Board Meeting December 15, 2009

For: Against: Batch Beaty Wilkins

Norwood Pace Smith

Motion carried.

# 20781 Request for Approval of Out-of-State Travel for Migrant Students:

Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins to approve the out-of-state travel for migrant students to travel to Washington, DC on June 20-25, 2010.

**For:** Abstain: Batch Beaty

Gregg Norwood Pace Smith Wilkins

Motion carried.

20782 Request for Approval of Board Designee to Complete Application for

<u>Low-Attendance on Behalf of the District</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins to approve Hector Mendez, Superintendent of Schools to complete application for Low-Attendance on Behalf of the District.

Motion unanimously approved.

20783 Request for Approval of Ector County Appraisal District Board

**Members:** The following ECAD Board Members were selected by ballot:

Wade C. Hudman Tom Pace Debbie Stevens Tom Sprawls Carl P. Jones

20784 Discussion of Board Policies from Update 86 [FIRST READING]:

Board Policies from Update 86 were presented for discussion and first reading.

Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas 20785 Government Code (Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Executive Session was held.

20786 Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Batch to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20787 Adjournment: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:15 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
D D 0 '''	V. II' - IAI'II '

Dr. Donna Smith

Yollie Wilkins