MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #239

The special organizational meeting of the Rushford-Peterson School District #239 was called to order by Chairperson John Linder at 5:36 p.m. on Monday, January 8, 2018, at the Rushford-Peterson Schools Forum Room, 1000 Pine Meadows Lane, Rushford, MN and via Facetime at 21871 E Berry Lane, Centennial, CO 80015.

Members Present: Valarie Howe, Joyce Iverson (via Facetime), Julie Koop, John Linder, Dean Mierau,

Jon Pettit and Bonnie Prinsen

Members Absent: None

Administration Present: Superintendent Charles Ehler

District Office Personnel: Laura Hahn

The pledge of allegiance was recited.

Moved by Howe, seconded by Koop to adopt the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

The following motions apply to the 2018 Calendar Year:

Moved by Koop, seconded by Mierau to keep the current officer positions for the 2018 calendar year; Chairperson – John Linder, Vice-Chairperson – Joyce Iverson, Treasurer – Valarie Howe and Clerk – Bonnie Prinsen. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Koop, seconded Prinsen to set the meeting dates and times as follows; the third Monday of each month with the exception of the January and February meetings that will be held on the fourth Monday of the month due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day in January and President's Day in February. Meetings will begin at 5:30 PM in the Forum Room. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Koop, seconded by Prinsen, to increase the Chairperson salary from \$800 per year to \$1,000 per year and keep the following 2017 calendar year amounts the same for 2018: Vice-Chairperson (\$750 per year), Clerk: (\$750 per year) Treasurer: (\$750 per year) Directors (\$700 per year); Out-of-District meeting pay: Half-day meetings: \$35, Full-day meetings: \$75. With a roll call vote of 6:0:1 motion carries with Linder abstaining.

Moved by Koop, seconded by Iverson, to designate the Tri-County Record, Rushford, MN, as the official Newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Prinsen, seconded by Howe, to name the following as Official Depository Banks: General Fund at Rushford State Bank, Middle School Activity Fund at Rushford State Bank, High School Activity Fund at Merchants Bank, Investments at Merchants Bank, Rushford State Bank, Minnesota School, District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, American Deposit Management Company & TD Ameritrade. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Koop, seconded by Iverson, to designate Ratwik, Roszak and Maloney as Legal Counsel. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Howe, seconded by Koop to authorize Business Manager Toni Oian, Accounting Clerk Assistant Laura Hahn and Superintendent Ehler to invest cash reserves and make electronic transfers. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Iverson, seconded by Prinsen to designate the accounting and clerical duties of Board Clerk and Board Treasurer to District Office Staff (Toni Oian, Business Manager, Laura Hahn, Accounting Clerk and Accounts Payable Clerk, Kris Kingsley). Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Koop, seconded by Mierau to approve the 2018 Committee Assignments and Designated Representatives as follows:

Community Education Advisory Joyce Iverson & Julie Koop
Facilities Joyce Iverson, Julie Koop & Dean Mierau
Budget & FinanceValarie Howe, Julie Koop, Toni Oian & Mr. Ehler
HVEDValarie Howe
InsuranceDean Mierau & John Linder
Legislative Joyce Iverson, Bonnie Prinsen & John Linder
Meet & Confer Jon Pettit & John Linder
MSHSLBonnie Prinsen
Negotiations Valarie Howe, Jon Pettit & John Linder Alternate – Julie Koop
Q Comp Julie Koop
R-P Foundation Committee Joyce Iverson & John Linder
School Policies Julie Koop & Joyce Iverson
Staff Development Valarie Howe
TechnologyValarie Howe
Transportation Jon Pettit, John Linder & Dean Mierau
Wellness Bonnie Prinsen
Safety Committee Valarie Howe
Motion carried unanimously.
INFORMATION:
Monday, January 22, 2018 – Regular Monthly Board Meeting – 5:30 PM – R-P School's Forum Room
Moved by Koop, seconded by Mierau, to adjourn the special meeting at 6:00 PM. Motion carried unanimously.

Bonnie Prinsen, Clerk

John Linder, Chairperson