

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

# DATE OF MEETING: December 10, 2019

### TITLE: Recognition of 2019 Arizona High School Science Teacher of the Year

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Science Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually by the Arizona Science Teachers Association (ASTA) to recognize and honor teachers who exemplify quality science teaching. One teacher from the elementary level, middle school/junior high level, and the high school level is honored with the award at the annual ASTA convention.

This year, Jill Christman from Canyon del Oro earned the title of 2019 Arizona High School Science Teacher of the Year.

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

This is presented for the Board's information and recognition.

# **INITIATED BY:**

11. Valena

Michelle Valenzuela, Communications Director

Date: December 2, 2019

Todd A. Jaeger, J.D., Superintendent