Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Argyle ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Argyle ISD was held Monday, **October 21**, **2024**, beginning at 5:00 PM in the Argyle ISD Board Room, 6701 Canyon Falls Dr, Flower Mound, TX 76226.

Board Members Present: Craig Hawkesworth, Vice President; Matt Slaton, Board Secretary; Rich McDowell; Dr. Leona McDade; Josh Westrom; Leigh Ann Artho; Sam Slaton, Board President came late at 5:30pm.

Argyle ISD Staff Present: Dr. Courtney Carpenter, Superintendent; Dr. Chris Daniel, Deputy Superintendent; Dr. Dawn Jordan, Assistant Superintendent; Liz Stewart, CFO; Rick Herrin, Communications Director; Greg Royar, CTO; Yvolene McGarvey, Administrative Assistant; Jeff Koehn, Construction Manager; Eli Davis, AISD Chief of Police; Tommy Ledford, Executive Director of Operations; Michael Lemish, Network/Security Coord; Morgan Griffard, HR Administrative Assistant

Principals: Shannon Knowles, AHS Principal; Dona Lumsden, AMS Principal; Robyn Campbell, Hilltop Elementary Principal; Kristen Haynes, ASE Elementary Principal; Renee Funderburg, AWE Principal; Holly Williams, 6th Grade Center Principal Lauren Tullos, JRE Principal was absent

- 1. 5:00pm Call to Order Determine if a Quorum is Present
- 2. 5:00pm Executive Session as authorized by Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapters D and E:
 - A. Pursuant to Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code to deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee.
 - B. Pursuant to Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code to deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public office or employee, specifically; Discuss duties of Board and Superintendent regarding security.
 - C. Government Code §551.072 authorizes a governmental body to deliberate in executive session on certain matters concerning real property, including deliberations relating to the purchase or value of real property if deliberations in an open meeting would have a detrimental effect on the position of the school in negotiation with a third person.
 - D. Pursuant to Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code. Private consultation with the Board's attorney in person or by telephone conference regarding a matter in

which the Board seeks advice of its attorney regarding pending or contemplated litigation and regarding a matter in which the duty of the attorney to the Board under the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct of the State Bar of Texas clearly conflicts with Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code

6:06pm - Return from Executive Session

- 3. Pledge of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags
- ~ Hilltop Elementary Students ~
- 4. Opening Prayer
- 5. Public Forum/Comments to the Board. For Regular Board Meetings, the Board will hear public comments regarding agenda and non-agenda items. (limit 5 minutes each or 30 minutes total)
- 6. Consider and take any action deemed necessary upon discussion in the closed meeting. No Action Taken
- 7. Recognitions
 - * AISD Principals

Shannon Knowles, Argyle High School

Dona Lumsden, Argyle Middle School

Holly Williams, 6th Grade Center

Renee Funderburg, Argyle West Elementary

Kristen Haynes, Argyle South Elementary

Lauren Tullos, Jane Ruestmann Elementary

Robyn Campbell, Hilltop Elementary

* AISD Human Resources Department

Dr. Chris Daniel, Deputy Superintendent Morgan Griffard, Administrative Assistant Jessica Mayer, HR Specialist

- 8. Public Hearing on the Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas (FIRST) District Status Report
- 9. Consent Items
 - A. Minutes
 - B. Donations
 - C. General Operating Checks and Financial Reports
 - D. TX Higher Ed MOU
 - 1. Dr. Leona McDade made a motion that the Board approve consent items as presented.
 - 2. Matt Slaton seconded
 - 3. Board voted 7-0

- 10. Reports
 - A. Superintendent's Report
 - B. Construction Report
 - C. Operations Report
 - D. Safety & Security Update EASE Campaign
- 11. Information Only
 - A. RFQ Architectural Services 2024
 - B. Final Change Order for JRE
 - C. District & Campus Improvement Plans
- 12. Discussion/Action Items
 - A. Consider Class Size Waiver
 - 1. Craig Hawkesworth made a motion that the Board approve action item 12-A with the ammendment that the waiver for Jane Ruestmann Elementary be removed only having Hilltop Elementary with 2 waivers approved
 - 2. Josh Westrom seconded
 - 3. Board voted 7-0
 - B. Consider and Approve Bus Purchase
 - 1. Matt Slaton made a motion that the Board approve action item 12-B as presented
 - 2. Josh Westrom seconded
 - 3. Board voted 7-0
 - C. Consider and Approve Legislative Priorities
 - 1. Craig Hawkesworth made a motion that the Board approve action item 12-C as presented
 - 2. Rich McDowell seconded
 - 3. Board voted 7-0
- 13. Sam Slaton adjourned the meeting at 7:47pm.

Sam Slaton,	
Board President	

Matt Slaton, Board Secretary