# Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools ISD 877 School Board Meeting Agenda

Monday, January 9, 2023
Special Meeting
Board Room
214 – 1st Ave NE
Buffalo, MN 55313
4:30 PM

#### **MINUTES**

1. CALL TO ORDER BY Chair Bob Sansevere at 4:35 AND ROLL CALL

Present: Matt Hoffman, Amanda Lawrence, Bob Sansevere, Adam Bjorklund,

Sheila Smude

Absent: Melissa Brings, Sue Lee

2. PRELIMINARY ACTIONS

A. Pledge of Allegiance

B. Approval of Agenda

Bjorklund/Lawrence to approve Motion carried 5-0

#### 3. CONSENT AGENDA

A. Personnel

<u>APPOINTMENT</u> – All appointments are contingent upon satisfactory completion of a criminal background check. Approve the following appointment.

- 1. Dana Fortier, Music Teacher at Northwinds Elementary, effective December 12, 2022. This is a replacement for Kristi Wagner.
- 2. Michelle Bestland, long-term substitute 2<sup>nd</sup> Grade Teacher at Hanover Elementary, effective January 3, 2023 and ending March 3, 2023. This is a replacement for Andrea Carlson.
- 3. Paul Downer, Communications Coordinator, effective December 30, 2022. This is a replacement for Laura Lindquist.
- 4. Melody Kalkbrenner, Nutrition Services Assistant at Montrose Elementary School of Innovation, effective December 19, 2022. This is a replacement for Angela Bartholomaus.
- 5. Ryan Kluver, Special Education ESP at Buffalo High School, effective December 19, 2022
- 6. Kari Heine, ECFE Assistant, effective December 13, 2022. This is a replacement for Kendra Durgin.

- 7. Samantha Estes, KidKare Supervisor, effective January 3, 2023.
- 8. Jocelynn Geib, KidKare Assistant, effective January 3, 2023.

# <u>RESIGNATION/RETIREMENT/TERMINATION</u> – Approve the following resignation/retirement/termination:

- 1. Joanne Jarvis, Music Teacher at Parkside Elementary, resignation effective December 9, 2022.
- 2. Vicki Rasset, Scheduling Assistant at Buffalo Community Middle School, resignation effective January 6, 2023.
- 3. David Trapp, Custodian at Tatanka Elementary STEM School, resignation effective December 30, 2022.
- 4. Yasmeen Davis, ESP at Tatanka Elementary STEM School, resignation effective December 13, 2022.
- 5. Mattie Winger, Special Education ESP at Buffalo Community Middle School, resignation effective January 5, 2023.
- 6. Leslie Hernandez, KidKare Assistant, resignation effective December 20, 2022.

# <u>TRANSFER/CHANGE IN ASSIGNMENT</u> - Approve the following transfers/changes in assignment:

- 1. Barbara Billing-Smith, Nutrition Services Assistant at Tatanka Elementary STEM School, increase from 30 to 36.25 hours/week, effective December 19, 2022.
- 2. Daniel Lindholm, Custodian at Buffalo Community Middle School, transfer from part-time to full time, effective December 12, 2022. This is a replacement for Jason Lundy.
- 3. Miranda Jordan, Custodian, transfer from Parkside Elementary to Tatanka Elementary STEM School, effective January 3, 2023. This is a replacement for David Trapp.
- 4. Kim Young, transfer from Counseling Secretary at Buffalo High School to Scheduling Assistant at Buffalo Community Middle School, effective January 6, 2023. This is a replacement for Vicki Rasset.
- 5. Steven Randall, transfer from District-Wide Maintenance to Custodian at Buffalo High School, effective January 3, 2023. This is a replacement for James Ingram, Jr.
- 6. Randall Stoick, Math Teacher at Buffalo High School, extension of assignment to end February 28, 2023.

# <u>LEAVE OF ABSENCE</u> – Approve the following requests for leave of absence:

- 1. Jessica Bajurto Alarcon, ESP at Buffalo Community Middle School, request for leave of absence, effective May 9, 2023 and ending June 8, 2023.
- 2. Richard Thompson, Head Engineer at Hanover Elementary, date adjustment for leave of absence to ending December 30, 2022.
- 3. Andrea Carlson, 2<sup>nd</sup> Grade Teacher at Hanover Elementary, request for leave of absence, effective December 13, 2022 and ending March 3, 2023.
- 4. Emily Moritz, Special Education Teacher at Montrose Elementary School of Innovation, request for leave of absence, effective February 8, 2023 and ending May 8, 2023.

Supt. Thielman introduced Paul Downer as the new Communications Coordinator.

Lawrence/Bjorklund to approve Motion carried 5-0

#### 4. ACTION ITEMS

### A. Election of Chair

B Sansevere nominated Melissa Brings as Chair No further nominations Melissa Brings declared Chair by acclamation

#### B. Election of Vice Chair

A Bjorklund nominated Bob Sansevere as Vice Chair No further nominations Bob Sansevere declared Vice Chair by acclamation

## C. Election of Clerk

B Sansevere nominated Adam Bjorklund as Clerk No further nominations Adam Bjorklund declared Clerk by acclamation

#### D. Election of Treasurer

B Sansevere nominated Amanda Lawrence as Treasurer No further nominations Amanda Lawrnece declared Treasurer by acclamation

### E. Election of Acting Clerk/Treasurer

B Sansevere nominated Sue Lee at Acting Clerk/Treasurer No further nominations
Sue Lee declared Acting Clerk/Treasurer by acclamation

# F. 2023 Committee Assignments, Scott Thielman, Superintendent Outside Agencies:

AMSD - Amanda Lawrence with Bob Sansevere as Alternate MSHSL - Bob Sansevere with Adam Bjorklund as Alternate NWSISD - Bob Sansevere with Sheila Smude as Alternate SEE - Amanda Lawrence with Susan Lee as Alternate SWMISD - Adam Bjorklund with Melissa Brings as Alternate United for Youth - Melissa Brings with Matt Hoffman WTC - Sue Lee with Bob Sansevere as Alternate

#### District 877 Committees:

Advertising – Melissa Brings with Bob Sansevere as Alternate Buildings & Grounds – Melissa Brings with Bob Sansevere as Alternate CEAC – Sheila Smude with Matt Hoffman as Alternate 877 Foundation – Amanda Lawrence with Matt Hoffman as Alternate DCTLC – Sheila Smude/Matt Hoffman with Amanda Lawrence as Alternate Insurance Committee – Adam Bjorklund with Amanda Lawrence as Alternate Safe Schools – Melissa Brings with Bob Sansevere as Alternate SEAC – Sue Lee with Matt Hoffman as Alternate Transportation – Bob Sansevere/Melissa Brings with Sue Lee as Alternate

### Negotiations:

Custodians – Melissa Brings, Adam Bjorklund Teachers – Melissa Brings, Bob Sansevere Clerical – Adam Bjorklund, Sheila Smude Food Service – Amanda Lawrence, Sue Lee Non-Affiliated – Matt Hoffman, Sheila Smude ESPs – Amanda Lawrence, Melissa Brings Principals – Melissa Brings, Bob Sansevere

Lawrence/Smude to approve Motion carried 5-0

Lawrence/Bjorklund to adjourn at 5:01 Motion carried 5-0

Respectfully submitted,

Adam Bjorklund, Clerk ISD 877 Board of Education