

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: January 23, 2024

TITLE: Recognition of Canyon del Oro High School 2023 4A Football State Champions

BACKGROUND: The Canyon del Oro High School football team qualified as the second seed in the 4A state tournament. Canyon del Oro High School won four consecutive playoff games and defeated Yuma Catholic High School to become the 2023 undefeated 4A Arizona Interscholastic Association State Champions. Additionally, the team was awarded the AIA 4A Conference Sportsmanship Award which was presented during halftime at the championship game on December 1, 2023 at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, AZ.

Seniors: Juniors: Head Coach: Joe Alba Mason Boothe **Dustin Peace Stayton Brooks** Gavin Bower Chance Cassel Evan Greer **Coaches:** Dakota Couture Athens Hicks **Neal Anthony** Andrew Basye Tyler Cruce Nicholas Mondragon Adrian Davidson Gabriel Ruvalcaba Jody Basye Cory Catterson Dylan Dawes Jayden Tipton Wiebe **Austin Greer** Elijah Unsworth Johnny Diaz Nathan Hartman Tayden Waddel David Elicio Jordan Hitchye Aaron Jacobsen Vijay King **Sophomores:** Richard Luke Lucas Cachoeira Chase Laux Brittain Main Ethan Lewis Cash Dickey Scott McKee Izaiah Lucero Caleb Dooley Chris Murray Reece Douglas James Neustadter Kayden Luke Ryan Madsen Andrew Garza Dylan Peace Tristen McClelland Brenden Lawrence Ron Porter Gatlin Miles Sean Young Matt Powell Morgan Naracaroti Steve Rocker Hollace Neasham Sergio Rodriguez Freshman: Peyton Strang Adam Rossi Aaron Ramirez Sean Rowland Eric Rossi Collin Samp Shane Sholl Blake Sholl John Vallejos Omaree Stubblefield

RECOMMENDATION:

This item is for the Governing Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:

John Torres Jordan Wiebe Sa'Kylee Woodard Grant Young

Armando Soto, Director of Interscholastic

Todd A. Jaeger, J.D., Superintendent

Date: January 19, 2024