STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF HANSFORD

The Spearman I.S.D. Board of Trustees met in a Regular Session on May 8, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Library, 403 East 11th Avenue, Spearman, Texas. The following were present:

Board Members: Dr. Mark Garnett, President

Stephen Batton, Vice President Karla Flowers, Member Dustin Mackie, Member

Abby Pipkin

Scott Sonnenberg, Member

Jay Tracy, Member

School Officials: Dan Gist, Superintendent

James Layman, HS Principal Karina Baca, Asst. JH Principal Lizet Olmos, Elem Principal

Cayla Schroeder, Asst. Elem Principal

Others: Nora Saenz, Executive Secretary

Laura Camacho, Director of Finance

Kristi Ramon, Teacher Mentor Coordinator

Kristin Shieldknight Tami Hargrove Krista Baird Michael Lozano

Missy & Dustin Klafka Brandon Reagan Maidie Bryan Ryan Lane Bruce Bailey D'Arcy Roberts

Hayley & Kyler Musgrave

Saylee Renick Jennifer Ooley Norma Hinojos Moriah Potter Clarrisa Correa Suzanne Bellsnyder Aurora Prieto

Rosa Mayte & Joe Betancourt

Blanca Reyes

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Mark Garnett, President of the Board of Trustees.

INVOCATION

The invocation was given by Dan Gist.

ESTABLISH A QUORUM

A quorum was established with all Board members present.

PUBLIC COMMENT / OPEN FORUM

No one came before the board

RECOGNITION

- A. Thank you card(s)
- B. Students of the Month
- C. Employees of the Month
- D. Lynx to Learning Mentor Academy
- E. Distinguished Alumni Award
- F. Adult ESL Class

ACTION/DISCUSSION ITEM(S)

A. CANVASS THE VOTE OF THE ELECTION HELD ON MAY 4, 2024 AND DECLARE WINNERS

Motion made by Scott Sonnenberg and seconded by Dustin Mackie that the results from the School Board Election Return Sheets be accepted as submitted by Roger Morton and Rylan Lozano, Election Judges for the May 4, 2024 School Board Election. Abby Pipkin and Karla Flowers are officially elected to the two full term 3-yr. positions. Jay Tracy is officially elected to the one-year unexpired term. Results are as follows:

ľ	ull	1	er	<u>'m:</u>
				Br

201	
219	
101	
310	

Unexpired Term:

Zaira Gonzalez	162
Jay Tracy	304

MOTION CARRIED 4-0.

B. SWEAR IN AND ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE TO NEWLY ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS

Nora Saenz administered the oaths to Karla Flowers and Jay Tracy. Abby Pipkin will be sworn into office at the end of her employment contract with Spearman ISD.

NO MOTION NECESSARY

C. REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES BY ELECTING NEW OFFICERS

Motion made by Karla Flowers and seconded by Stephen Batton to appoint Dr. Mark Garnett as Board President.

MOTION CARRIED 4-2. VOTING FOR – STEPHEN BATTON, MARK GARNETT, KARLA FLOWERS, JAY TRACY **VOTING AGAINST – DUSTIN MACKIE & SCOTT SONNENBERG**

Motion made by Karla Flowers and seconded by Scott Sonnenberg to appoint Stephen Batton as Board Vice-President.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

Motion made by Dr. Mark Garnett and seconded by Stephen Batton to appoint Scott Sonnenberg as Board Secretary.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

CONSENT ITEM(S)

- A. Approve Minutes of the April 24, 2024, Regular meeting and the May 1, 2024, Special meeting
- B. Ratification of Bills
- C. Year-to-Date Tax Revenue AnalysisD. Year-to-Date Budget Function Compilation
- E. Acceptance of Gifts and Donations

Motion was made by Stephen Batton and seconded by Karla Flowers to approve the Consent items as presented.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

INFORMATION AND ANNOUNCEMENT ITEM(S)

- A. Superintendent's Report
 - a. District Enrollment
 - b. JH Promotion ceremony information / HS graduation information
- B. Campus/Director Reports
 - a. Fleet/Transportation update

ACTION/DISCUSSION ITEM(S)

APPROVE STUDENT TRANSFER LIST A D.

Motion made by Stephen Batton and seconded by Dustin Mackie to approve Student Transfer List A for 2024-2025 as recommended by the Superintendent

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

E. <u>APPROVE THE IMPLEMENTATION OF STAYING SAFE CURRICULUM AS RECOMMENDED BY</u> THE DISTRICT SAFETY AND SECURITY COMMITTEE

Motion made by Stephen Batton and seconded by Jay Tracy to approve the implementation of Staying Safe curriculum as recommended by the District Safety and Security Committee

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

F. <u>DISCUSSION OF REQUIRING CDL FOR DUAL ASSIGNMENT CONTRACT EMPLOYEES</u>

NO MOTION

G. DISCUSSION OF TIMELINES FOR PERSONNEL IN AN ALTERNATIVE CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

NO MOTION

CLOSED MEETING – TEXAS OPEN MEETING ACT

<u>PERSONNEL MATTERS (551.074)</u> – to discuss staffing and employment contracts SECURITY (551.076) – discuss District Safety & Security status

Motion made by Dustin Mackie and seconded by Stephen Batton that the Board move into Closed Meeting, Personnel Matters 551.074 and Security 551.076.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

The Board moved into Closed Meeting at 7:19 p.m.

RECONVENE INTO OPEN MEETING

The Board reconvened into Open Meeting at 9:28 p.m.

ACTION/DISCUSSION ITEM(S)

H. CONSIDER AND APPROVE CONTRACTS FOR PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYEES

Motion made by Scott Sonnenberg and seconded by Jay Tracy to approve Superintendent's recommendation for employment of Gabriela Ruiz on a 10-month Probationary Educator Contract with Certification Addendum for 2024-2025 school year.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

Motion made by Scott Sonnenberg and seconded by Dustin Mackie to approve Superintendent's recommendation for employment of Jaemi Saenz on a 10-month Probationary Educator Contract with Certification Addendum for 2024-2025 school year.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

Motion made by Stephen Batton and seconded by Dustin Mackie to approve Superintendent's recommendation for employment of Jack Wilkerson on a 10-month Dual Assignment Probationary Educator Contract with CDL Certification Addendum for 2024-2025 school year.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

Motion made by Scott Sonnenberg and seconded by Dustin Mackie to approve Superintendent's recommendation for employment of Brandon Reagan's 10-month Multi Year Dual Assignment Term Educator Contract for 2024-2025 school year.

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

I. ACCEPT RESIGNATIONS OF PROFESSIONAL CERTIFIED PERSONNEL

Motion made by Scott Sonnenberg and seconded by Jay Tracy to accept the resignations of the following professional certified personnel effective at the end of the 2023-2024 school year:

Kendra Frost (Ladd) Brandie Parker

MOTION CARRIED 6-0.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:32 p.m.			
President of the Board	Secretary of the Board		