Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel Meeting May 19, 2020

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Tuesday, May 19, 2020, remotely via Zoom. Panel Chair Dr. Ivy Pfeffer called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Present: Chair Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Phillip Baldwin, Dr. Angela Kremers, Greg Rogers, Dr. Naccaman Williams, Toyce Newton

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website at the following:

http://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about-ade/charter-authorizing-panel/minutes/archive/2020

Dr. Pfeffer introduced the Panel members and provided the audience with logistical instructions pertinent to the Zoom meeting proceedings.

Consent Agenda

1. CAP Minutes from April 14, 2020

Mr. Rogers moved, seconded by Dr. Williams, to approve the Consent Agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Action Agenda

Dr. Pfeffer provided directions for the proceedings. She also swore in the school presenters and explained the public voting procedures.

A-1 Request for Open-Enrollment Charter School Amendment: Haas Hall Academy

Superintendent Dr. Martin Schoppmeyer presented via Zoom an overview of the Haas Hall Academy Fayetteville (LEA 7240700) amendment request to absorb Haas Hall Academy Bentonville (LEA 0443700) and continue to use the Fayetteville campus waivers during this change.

A question and answer period followed.

Dr. Kremers moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to approve the applicant's amendment request. Motion carried unanimously.

A-2 Charter Schools Office Proposal of Public Charter Schools Review Process

Director of Public Charter Schools Tracy Webb provided the Panel with a proposal for the yearly Charter Schools Review Process. Ms. Webb will send the Panel a draft of the risk assessment for their feedback before finalizing the process for implementation in the fall.

A question and answer period followed.

Next meeting scheduled for July 14, 2020.

Adjournment

Dr. Williams moved, seconded by Dr. Kremers, to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 10:36 a.m.

Minutes recorded by Freddie Scott

Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Charter Authorizing Panel Chair