## HARRISON CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT

To:	Presiding Officers
From:	Stacy Morris, Interim Chief Appraiser
Subject: Date:	Vote Entitlement & Nomination Resolution for Appraisal District Director Selection September 16, 2013
Date.	September 10, 2010

Section 6.03 of the Property Tax Code governs the director selection process. Directors are nominated and selected by the governing bodies of voting taxing units in the appraisal district. Voting taxing units for all appraisal districts are the county, cities, towns and school districts participating in the appraisal district. Directors are selected in the fall of each odd-numbered year. This process is not an "election" governed by the Texas Election Code, but an independent procedure unique to the property tax system.

To be eligible to serve on the board of directors of an appraisal district, a person must have resided in the appraisal district for at least two years immediately preceding the date of taking office. An employee of a taxing unit that participates in the appraisal district may not serve. However, an elected official or member of the governing body of a participating taxing unit may serve. A person may not be appointed or continue to serve on the board, if related within the second degree of consanguinity or affinity to:

- (1) An appraiser who appraises property for use in an appraisal review board proceeding for the county which participates in the appraisal district, or:
- (2) A tax representative who represents taxpayers for compensation before the review board for the county which participates in the appraisal district.

Appraisal district directors serve two-year terms beginning January 1 of an even-numbered year. The schedule for the director selection process is as follows:

Before October 1, 2013 - each voting taxing unit is notified of the number of votes (calculated using previous year tax levy) it may cast (this form serves as notification).

Before October 15, 2013- each voting taxing unit may nominate one candidate for each of the five director positions, and the presiding officer of the taxing unit submits the nomination(s) to the chief appraiser by written resolution (form attached).

Before October 21, 2013 - the chief appraiser prepares the official ballot listing the nominees, that were nominated on time in alphabetical order by last name, and delivers it to the presiding officer of each voting unit.

Before November 15, 2013 - each voting unit must cast its votes to one or more names listed on the official ballot, sign as a written resolution, and submit to the chief appraiser (write-ins are not acceptable).

Before December 1, 2013 - the chief appraiser counts votes, declares as winners the candidates who received the largest vote totals, notifies all candidates and each taxing unit of the results.

NOTE 834 votes guarantees a nominee's selection.

Voting Taxing Units	2012 Levy	% of Total Levy	Vote Entitlement
Harrison County	19,803,239.79	19.62%	. 980.80
City of Hallsville	473,903.29	0.47%	23.47
City of Longview	1,586,941.24	1.57%	78.60
City of Marshall	4,998,473.36	4.95%	247.56
City of Waskom	498,039.20	0.49%	24.67
Elysian Fields ISD	4,173,609.05	4.13%	206.71
Hallsville ISD	31,554,145.37	31.26%	1,562.79
farleton ISD	1,815,382.45	1.80%	89.91
Karnack ISD	2,244,631.58	2.22%	111.17
Marshall ISD	28,297,908.67	28.03%	1,401.52
New Diana ISD	71,766.14	0.07%	3.55
Dre City ISD	34,970.81	0.03%	1.73
Waskom ISD	5,401,600.43	5.35%	267.53.
Total	100,954,611.38	l	5,000
Votes per Position	Board Positions	Total Votes	
1.000	5	5,000	

MyDucy Word BOD VotingBOD Vote Entitlement & Resolution

## HARRISON CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT

601 South Washington Street - Marshall, Texas 75670

October 22, 2013

Presiding Officer of "Voting" Taxing Units;

All of the nominations have been received for the Director Selection process for the fivemember Board of Directors of the Harrison Central Appraisal District for the two year term beginning January 1, 2014.

The names are in alphabetical order on the "Official Ballot" as required by Section 6.03 of the Texas Property Tax Code.

Each voting taxing unit must cast its votes to one or more names listed on the official ballot, in an open meeting of the governing body of the unit, sign the attached resolution and submit said resolution to the chief appraiser **before November 15, 2013**.

If you have questions or concerns please call (903) 935-1991 ext. 212.

Sincerely,

Robert Lisman, RPA Chief Appraiser

MyDocs Word BOD Voting Ballot

## ~OFFICIAL BALLOT ~ DIRECTOR SELECTION RESOLUTION

Harrison Central Appraisal District Director Selection Process for 2014 - 2015

Whereas, the WASKOM Independent School District Board of Trustees has had opportunity to submit nominees for five (5) director positions on the Harrison CAD Board of Directors, and;

Whereas, the chief appraiser has compiled this Official Ballot by arranging, in alphabetical order, all names of individuals officially nominated by the voting taxing units, and;

Whereas, the Waskom Independent School District has vote entitlement of two hundred sixty (268) votes, based upon the unit's local 2012 tax levy as a percentage of the total of the levies of all voting taxing units served by the Harrison Central Appraisal District;

NOW THEREFORE, BE it resolved by the Board of Trustees of Waskom Independent School District that, in an open meeting, two hundred sixty eight (268) votes were cast in the following manner:

\*

Nominees Listed Alphabetically	Votes
1. Robert Duvall, CPA	
2. L. Rhea Haston, Property Owner	
3. Charlie Hunt, Hallsville ISD Trustee	
4. Mark Kranz, Hallsville ISD Trustee	
5. Ray Polk, Karnack ISD Trustee	
6. Helen Warwick, Marshall ISD Trustee	
Passed and approved on the day of, 2013	
	Presiding Officer
*******	****
Please, return this form before November 15, 2013, to:	
<b>FAX</b> : 903-927-2010	Mail: Robert Lisman, RPA Chief Appraiser

Mail: Robert Lisman, RPA Chief Appraiser Harrison Central Appraisal District P.O. Box 818 Marshall, TX 75671-0818