AGENDA ITEM				
BOARD OF TRUSTEES AGENDA				
	Workshop	$\mathbf{\nabla}$	Regular	Special
(A)	Report Only			Recognition
	Presenter(s): John Cox, Deputy Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction Luis Huerta, Eagle Pass High School Principal Briefly describe the subject of the report or recognition presentation.			
	Recognition of forty-one (41) Eagle Pass High School students for being awarded the National African American Recognition Award (NAARA), or the National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA), or the National Rural & Small-Town Award (NRSTA) or the National Indigenous Award (NIA) by the College Board. These students earned the academic honor because of their GPA of 3.5 or higher and outstanding performance on the PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10, and or AP Exams.			
(B)	Action Items			
Presenters(s): Briefly describe the action required.				
(C)	Funding source: Identify	the source of	<u>funds if anv ar</u>	e required.
(D)	Clarification: Explain any	v question or	issues that migh	nt be raised regarding this item.
				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·



TO: Mr. Samuel Mijares, Superintendent of Schools
CC: Mr. John Cox, Deputy Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction
FROM: Mr. Luis Huerta, EPHS Principal
Re: 2023 College Board National Recognition
DATE: August 30, 2023

I would like to officially request the recognition of the attached list of students for their outstanding academic performance in which they received a National Recognition from the College Board. The listed students earned the academic honor because of their GPA of 3.5 or higher and outstanding performance on the PSAT/NMSQT®, PSAT^{IM} 10, and/or AP® Exams. Eagle Pass High School is honored to recognize these students for their commitment and dedication to their High School academics. The following Awards were received:

- 1. National African American Recognition Award (NAARA)
- 2. National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA)
- 3. National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA)
- 4. National Indigenous Award (NIA)

Please help me in recognizing the following students for their hard work and dedication to their school and for their National Recognition.

Mr. Luis Huerta, Principal EPHS

SEP 0 1 2023

Mr. John Cox, Deputy Superintendent for C&I

Excellence in Education Contract Contra

Awardees:

- Aaron Jathanna: NRSTA
- Alexis Esquivel: NHRA, NRSTA
- Almagaly Gouldburn: NHRA, NRSTA
- Alyson Morales: NHRA, NRSTA
- Alyssa Tamayo: NHRA
- Angela Rodriguez: NHRA
- Angelina Conde: NHRA, NRSTA
- Antonio Valadez: NHRA
- Ariel Ethredge: NHRA
- Ashley Garza: NHRA
- Briana Davila: NHRA
- Chloe Rodriguez: NHRA
- Claudia Hernandez: NHRA, NRSTA
- David Rodriguez: NHRA
- Emilio Gonzalez: NHRA, NRSTA
- · Francisco Parra: NHRA
- · Gabriela De Los Santos: NHRA, NRSTA
- Hector Solano: NHRA
- · Isabella Tepedino: NRSTA
- · Isabella Chavez: NHRA
- Jaime Fukutake: NHRA, NRSTA
- · Janna Dovalina: NHRA
- Jasmin Moreno: NHRA
- Jesus Salazar: NHRA, NRSTA
- Juan Flores: NHRA
- Juan Garza: NHRA
- Lilian Garza: NHRA
- Maria Gonzalez: NHRA
- Mariafernanda Salinas: NHRA, NRSTA
- Mia Martinez: NHRA
- Michelle Alvarado: NHRA
- Natalia Baima: NHRA
- Nathan Salinas: NRSTA
- · Rafael Landin: NHRA
- Rito Flores: NHRA, NRSTA
- Rolando Perez: NHRA
- · Santiago Sanchez: NHRA
- Sarah Rincon: NRSTA
- Sofia Valdez: NHRA
- Sophia Derbez: NHRA, NRSTA
- · Zaira Chavarria: NHRA, NRSTA

Award Key:

National African American Recognition Award (NAARA) National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA) National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA) National Indigenous Award (NIA)