Regular Meeting Monday, April 14, 2025 7:00 PM Vicksburg High School - PAC 501 EAST HIGHWAY ST VICKSBURG, MI 49097

Minutes

Board Members Present: Rick Burmeister, Tina Forsyth, Lisa Hostetler, Stephanie Willoughby, Dave Schriemer, Ron Centofanti Board Members Absent: Dan Grabowski Board Secretary: Tamara Young Administrators Present: Keevin O'Neill, Steve Goss, Adam Brush, Mike Roy, Matt Hawkins, Allison Dygert, Joe Werkema, Mike Barwegen, Amie McCaw, Gail Vandaff, Kelli Luke, Jessica Wheeler, Alyssa Thompson, Sarah Dyer Guests Present: See attached sign in sheet

President Schriemer called to order at 7:00 pm.

I. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

I.A. Recognitions. Supt O'Neill opened and welcomed everyone to the meeting. He then turned the meeting over to Mike Roy, Athletic Dept. He introduced our new state champion. Jordan Butler. Jordan introduced his guests.

I.A.1. Class of 2025 Senior Recognitions - Adam Brush. Mr Brush introduced the Vicksburg Class of 2025 Summa Cum Laude.

I.A.2. Graduation. May 22nd

I.A.3. Senior Awards.

I.B. Legislative Update. Supt O'Neill gave a quick recap. It's still very quiet, they continue to work on the budget. Budget is projected to be very slow. He discussed the cuts to the Federal Programs. Nothing concrete has been set, it's all still speculation. University funding is an area to be watched. He is in favor of this resolution for the money to go back to K12 schools.

I.C. Important Dates. Supt O'Neill highlighted several important dates including Celebration of the Arts. Senior Day of Service is a great day to watch our seniors shine around the community. Ed Knapp field is being rededicated. Friday, May 9th is the senior walk day. Supt. O'Neill encouraged everyone to attend.

II. REPORTS AND PUBLIC INQUIRY

II.A. Budget and Finance Report - Steve Goss highlighted activity through the end of March. The June board meeting will be partly dedicated to the budget amendments and the projected budget for next year.

II.B. Investment Holdings Update - Steve Goss went over the account highlights and balances.

II.C. Dairy Bid from Cedar Crest Farms for the 2025-26 School Year - Sarah Dyer

III. Audience. John Stears spoke to the board regarding several concerns.

IV. BOARD ACTION REQUIRED

IV.A. Approval of the following Board Meeting Minutes

IV.A.1. 3-10-25. A motion for approval was made by Willoughby and supported by Hostetler. Motion carried unanimously.

IV.A.2. 3-18-25 A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Centofanti. Motion carried unanimously.

IV.B. Approval of General Fund Invoices Totaling \$415,968.67 - ROLL CALL VOTE. A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Willoughby. Motion carried unanimously by a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.C. Approval of Purchase Card Disbursements for Totaling \$84,879.39 - ROLL CALL VOTE Burmeister asked questions about the reviewer of the statements. Burmeister also asked if these need to be presented to the board. This discussion will be tabled until the next work session. A motion for approval was made by Willoughby and supported by Forsyth. Motion carried with a 4-2 ROLL CALL vote. Burmeister and Hosteler, nay. Schriemer, Willoughby, Centofanti, and Forsyth, yay.

IV.D. Approval to extend the following administrative team members' individual contracts for the 2025-26 school year based on evaluations through 2024-25 - ROLL CALL VOTE

IV.D.1. Principals. A motion for approval was made by Willoughby and supported by Burmeister. Motion carried unanimously.

IV.D.1.a. Adam Brush - High School Principal

IV.D.1.b. Matt Hawkins - High School Asst. Principal

IV.D.1.c. Allison Dygert - Middle School Principal

IV.D.1.d. Joe Werkema - Middle School Asst. Principal

IV.D.1.e. Sarah Bacalia - Indian Lake Elementary Principal

IV.D.1.f. Amie McCaw - Sunset Lake Principal

IV.D.2. Directors/Supervisors/Coordinators A motion for approval was made by Burmeister and supported by Forsyth. Motion carried unanimously.

IV.D.2.a. Sarah Dyer - Food Service Director

IV.D.2.b. Karen McKinstry - Transportation Director

IV.D.2.c. Lourdes Puzevic - Human Resources Director

IV.D.2.d. Michael Roy - Athletic Director

IV.D.2.e. Alyssa Thompson - Community Education Director

IV.D.2.f. Gail Van Daff - Director of Curriculum and Instruction

IV.D.2.g. Dewey Waterman - Facilities Director

IV.D.2.h. Jessica Wheeler-Ponton - Communications Director

IV.E. Approval to extend the following non-line position contract for the 2025-26 school year based on evaluations through 2024-25 - ROLL CALL VOTE A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Willoughby. Motion carried unanimously with a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.E.1. Tim Fuller - Performing Arts Center Manager

IV.F. Approval to extend the following contract as per contractual agreement - ROLL CALL VOTE A motion for approval was made by Burmeister and supported by Centofanti. Motion carried unanimously with a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.F.1. Stephen Goss - Assistant Superintendent

IV.G. Approval of the following staff retirement requests effective June 6, 2025. A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Hostetler. Motion carried unanimously.

IV.G.1. Gail VanDaff - 10 Years of Service (effective Sept 1st)

IV.G.2. Mike Barwegen - 22 Years of Service (effective June 20th)

IV.G.3. Molly Beardsley - 25 Years of Service

IV.G.4. Dave Smith - 29 Years of Service

IV.G.5. Amy Green - 32 Years of Service

IV.G.6. Terri Secord - 27 Years of Service

IV.G.7. Carole Boal - 18 Years of Service

IV.G.8. Jill Tibbetts - 19 Years of Service

IV.G.9. Alyson Lonsway - 23 Years of Service

IV.G.10. Greg Mills - 11 Years of Service

IV.H. Approval of the resignation of Megan Neel - effective June 6, 2025 - ROLL CALL VOTE. A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Hostetler. Motion carried unanimously with a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.I. Approval of Dairy Bid from Cedar Crest Farms in the amount of \$98,182.40 for the 2025-26 School Year - ROLL CALL VOTE. A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Hostetler. Motion carried unanimously with a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.J. 1st Reading Approval of the Following Policies - ROLL CALL VOTE. A motion for approval was made by Forsyth and supported by Willoughby. Motion carried unanimously with a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.J.1. PO 131.1

IV.J.2. PO 2340

IV.J.3. PO 5320

IV.J.4. PO 5330 IV.J.5. PO 5330.01 IV.J.6. PO 8640

IV.K. 2nd Reading Approval of the Following Policies - ROLL CALL VOTE. Hostetler A motion for approval was made by Hostetler and supported by Willoughby. Motion carried unanimously with a ROLL CALL vote.

IV.K.1. PO 0164.1

IV.K.2. PO 0144.2

There being no further business to come before the Board, President Schriemer adjourned the meeting at 8:03 pm.

President Dave Schriemer May 12, 2025 Secretary Tamara Young