

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: April 11, 2023

TITLE: Recognition of 2023 Odyssey of the Mind World Teams

BACKGROUND:

Odyssey of the Mind is an international competition that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Amphitheater Public Schools continues to be the top district in participation and achievement in the Arizona Odyssey of the Mind program.

Team members apply their creativity to solve problems such as sailing a "ship" to reclaim stolen treasure, battling a sea monster and returning the treasure to their queen, creating a structure from pieces hidden in plain sight in the competition room and creating "the most dramatic" performance ever.

This year, 13 teams earned the right to compete during World Finals being held at Michigan State University May 24-27, 2023. The following students and their coaches are to be commended for their dedication and high level of accomplishment in this academic competition.

Elementary Schools

Donaldson Elementary School Coordinator:	Harelson Elementary School Coordinator:
Harriet Matiatos	Robyn Yewell
Donaldson Elementary Performance Team	Harelson Elementary Vehicle Team
2nd Place, Division 1	2nd Place, Division 1
Coaches: Harriet Matiatos and Jennifer Iadevaia	Coaches: Sarah Nystedt and Robyn Yewell
Team:	Team:
Bella Cedillo	Cooper Bulleigh-Wilson
Brynn Good	Ella Sieminski
Vincent Iadevaia	Daniela Campbell
C'ayla McGrane	Emerson King
Aurora Payne	Ezekiel Mellinger
Oliver Reed	Owen George
Racquel Ware	Joseph Herman

Innovation Academy Coordinators: Lori LaRussa and Mandi Cordell

Innovation Academy Vehicle
Team:
3rd Place, Division 1
Coaches: Pamela Barrett and
Andrea Pershing
Team:
Grayson Barrett
Frankie Mendez
Zophia Pershing
Owen Wheatley
Carmen Schlappi
Tatum Shattuck
Ella Taliaferro

Innovation Academy Technical Team 1st Place, Division 1 Coach: Cris Gosz Team: Liam Gosz Avery Grembowski Ella Fendrick Abby Barrett Elliott Garcia Seminario River Stacy Innovation Academy Classics Team 2nd Place, Division 1 Coaches: Patricia Patchin and Cory Friezen Team: Natalie Jacobs Morgan Friezen Lily Poyas Aurelia Willard Luke Weede Amelia Weede Sora Kretzer **Rio Vista Elementary School Coordinator:** Stephanie Quimby-Greene

Rio Vista Elementary School Classics Team

3rd Place, Division 1
Coach: Stephanie Quimby-Greene
Team:
Malachai Martinez
Rasheed Jose Hall
Alma Eleanor Jernigan
Ivan Hagen
Alexander Wiechert
Myra Fobes

Walker Elementary School Coordinator: Alexis Tuo

Walker Elementary School Technical Team 2nd Place Division 1

Coaches: Sue Luciano and Cathy Williams **Team:** Aedon McGahan Rubio Adalynn Pfleiderer Quinn Ewald Jay Kalyani Abigail Feuntes Sameen Abedi

Middle and K-8 Schools

Coronado K-8 School Coordinator: Stacey Sherman

Coronado K-8 Structure Team

1st Place, Division 1 **Coaches:** Stacey Sherman and Emily Sherman **Team:** Riley Bruce Rowan Hawkins Liam Littmann Abner Campos Elias Herrera-Cota

Cross Middle School Coordinator: Robyn Yewell

Cross Classics Team

2nd Place, Division 2 **Coaches:** Lori LaRussa, Mandi Cordell and Colin Cordell **Team:** Payton Walker Kacie Walker Owen Cordell Addison Garcia Vincent Poyas

Cross Performance Team

2nd Place, Division 2 **Coaches:** Marnie Miserendino and Michelle Schloss **Team:** Gillian Higgins Ari Laird Samuel McEuen Justin Miserendino Brennan Payne Scarlett Williams Luca Schloss

High School

Canyon del Oro Coordinator: Lisa DaDeppo

Canyon del Oro High School
Classics Team
1st Place Division 3
Coach: Amanda Campion
Team:
Seth Campion
Kaden Rogers
E.B. Barraza-Rocha
Caysea Cordell
Cadence Jones
Jessica Lassiter

Canyon del Oro High School Vehicle Team 1st Place Division 3 Coaches: Leann Calvin Team: Lewis Calvin Andrew Garza Erica Schollmeyer Taylor Rayl Pennilyn Richards Eli Mosher Brandon Britt Canyon del Oro High School Performance Team 1st Place Division 3 Coaches: Lisa DaDeppo Team: Liam DaDeppo Carter DaDeppo Angelina Piccininni Keelynn Anderson Bryana Castillo Kyndel Smith Emma Miserendino

RECOMMENDATION:

This is presented for the Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Mihille Valenquele

Michelle Valenzuela, Communications Director

Date: April 5, 2023

Todd A. Jaeger, J.D., Superintendent