Minutes of Special Meeting Tuesday, May 13, 2025 The Board of Trustees SPRING BRANCH INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the SPRING BRANCH INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT was held on **May 13, 2025**, beginning at 6:00 PM in the Wayne F. Schaper, Sr. Leadership Center, Board Room, 955 Campbell Rd, Houston, TX 77024, with the following Board Members present: Lisa Andrews Alpe, Courtney Anderson, Caroline H. Bennett, Chris Earnest, Shannon Mahan, John Perez, and David Slattery.

Board President Lisa Andrews Alpe called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM. She noted that a quorum of Board members was present.

President Alpe certified that the provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551.041, had been complied with in connection with public notice of the meeting.

1. **Opening Remarks by the Superintendent** Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Blaine welcomed everyone and extended congratulations to the incoming trustees and their families.

2. Public Comment on Agenda Items

Brian Muecke and Amy Andrews Cone spoke regarding Agenda Item 3A.

3. Action

A. <u>Request for Approval of Canvass of the Results of the May 3, 2025 Election of Three Board of Trustee Positions and Certification of Election Results</u> President Alpe said the first order of business was approval of canvass of the results of the May 3, 2025, election of three Board of Trustee positions and the certification of election results. Trustee Chris Earnest, who served on the Canvass Committee, recommended that the Board accept the election results, which were provided on a handout to each Board member as follows:

Position 5:	Jennifer Hyland	5,766 votes
Position 6:	Walker Agnew Jr.	5,044 votes
Position 7:	Caroline H. Bennett	5,067 votes

Vice President Anderson moved to approve the canvass of results of the May 3, 2025, election and the certification of election results. Trustee David Slattery seconded the motion.

The Motion passed by a 7-0 vote.

Go to springbranchisd.com for videos of Board meetings

- B. <u>Request for Approval of Completion of Statement of Officer and Administration of Oath of Office for Elected Officials (Signing of Oath of Office Papers)</u> Executive Assistant to the Board of Trustees and Notary, Ms. Stacy Kim, administered the Oath of Office to Trustee Jennifer Hyland (Position 5), Trustee Walker Agnew Jr. (Position 4), and Trustee Caroline H. Bennett (Position 7). All three trustees duly signed the Oath of Office, the Statement of Elected/Appointed Officer, and the Certificate of Election. Copies of these documents were presented to each trustee. The Board extended its congratulations to Trustees Hyland, Agnew Jr., and Bennett. By general consent, this action was approved.
- C. <u>Request for Consideration and Approval of Order Canvassing Returns and Declaring</u> <u>Results of Bond Election</u>

Trustee Earnest, who served on the Canvass Committee, recommended that the Board accept the results of the Bond Election, as provided in the handout distributed to each Board member. The official vote totals were as follows:

Proposition	For Votes	Against Votes	Undervotes	Result
А	5,145	4,020	68	Passes
В	4,622	4,532	79	Passes
С	4,746	4,397	90	Passes
D	4,131	5,006	96	Does not pass

Secretary Shannon Mahan moved to approve the canvass of results of the May 3, 2025 election and the certification of the Bond Election results. Trustee Earnest seconded the motion.

The Motion passed by a 7-0 vote.

4. Executive Session

Vice President Anderson recessed the Board into Executive Session at 6:19 PM under Section 551.074, and Section 551.071 of the Texas Open Meetings Act regarding the purpose listed below.

- A. <u>The Board Will Meet in Closed Session Under Section 551.074 of the Texas Open</u> <u>Meetings Act to Deliberate the Appointment and Duties of a Public Officer</u>
- B. <u>The Board Will Meet in Closed Session Under Section 551.071 of the Texas Open</u> <u>Meetings Act in Consultation with the Board's Attorney Regarding All Matters as</u> <u>Authorized by Law</u>

Vice President Anderson reconvened the meeting in open session at 6:47 PM and said that no action was taken while in the closed session.

5. Action

A. <u>Election of Board Officers: President, Vice President and Secretary</u> Trustee Slattery made a motion to nominate Vice President Anderson for the position of Board President. Trustee Earnest seconded the motion. A vote was taken,

Go to springbranchisd.com for videos of Board meetings

and the motion failed by a 4–3 vote, with Trustees Agnew Jr., Bennett, Hyland, and Mahan casting opposing votes.

Trustee Bennett made a motion to nominate Secretary Mahan for the position of Board President. Trustee Hyland seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion passed by a 4–3 vote. Trustees Anderson, Earnest, and Slattery cast opposing votes. Trustee Mahan was elected Board President.

Trustee Agnew Jr. made a motion to nominate Trustee Bennett for the position of Board Vice President. Trustee Hyland seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion passed by a 7–0 vote. Trustee Bennett was elected Vice President.

Trustee Hyland made a motion to nominate Trustee Agnew Jr. for the position of Board Secretary. Trustee Bennett seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion passed by a 7–0 vote. Trustee Agnew Jr. was elected Secretary.

6. Closing Remarks by the Superintendent

Dr. Blaine welcomed the newly elected trustees to the Board.

7. Meeting Adjourned

President Alpe adjourned the Special meeting at 6:51PM.

Shannon Mahan President, Board of Trustees Walker Agnew Jr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Approved: June 23, 2025

Go to springbranchisd.com for videos of Board meetings

-Page 3 of 3-