VI. RECOGNITIONS

A. Governor's Partnership Award Winner (Rankin)

Rankin Elementary School was awarded the Governor's Partnership Award in February for its combined efforts with West Jackson Street Baptist Church. The church offers staff support, food, and has reading classes with students. They also provide a clothes closet.

B. College Savings Mississippi Art Contest (Rankin)

Rankin students Caylee Naylor and Carson Jones finished first and second place at the College Savings Mississippi Art Contest. Caylee finished first and Carson placed second. They also won a college scholarship through the MS State Treasury.

C. PREPS Awards (TMS and Milam)

The PREPS value-added analysis began in June 1997 and allows for valid comparisons of educational performance on the prior year's state testing while taking into account the impact of differences in the socioeconomic background of the students considered in the research. The model is used in the PREPS Value-Added Awards Program to identify high performing schools among Mississippi public school districts who are members of the PREPS Consortium. Schools which are deemed as adding value are those performing significantly better than other schools with comparable socioeconomic circumstances.

Dr. Brock English and Mr. Paul Moton will be recognized along with Milam and TMS Teachers Sherrie Dickerson and Jennifer Towery

D. Tupelo Middle School Robotics

The Tupelo Middle School Robotics Team had a high finish at the recent state championship. Ms. Crystal Wilson is the sponsor.

Naomi Wise Kennodiya Mathis Johnovan Key
DJ Lee Will Jackson Coby Blanchard

Jarrett Goodwin Z'Mon Clay Eli Cannon

Harrison Wampler Clay Hewitt

E. Tupelo Middle School - Science Bowl Winners

On Feb. 2, Tupelo Middle School won the Mississippi Regional Science Bowl under the direction of Jacob Prince. This team will travel to Washington, D.C. on April 25-19 to compete against the other 40 regional middle schools across the nation.

Archi Prasad, Amari Jamison, Jackson Sibley, and Ethan Belcher

F. 2019 Mississippi Administrator of the Year Finalist

The Mississippi Administrator of the Year program honors an administrator who demonstrates superior ability to inspire teachers, employs exemplary leadership practices and participates as an active member of the community. A finalist is selected from each Congressional District, and from these four finalists the 2019 Mississippi Administrator of the year is chosen.

On March 12, the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) announced the four finalists for the 2019 Administrator of the Year. TPSD's 2019 Administrator of the Year Amy Barnett was chosen as the Congressional District I Finalist. In addition, on March 29, the MDE announced that Mrs. Barnett was chosen runner-up to 2019 Mississippi Administrator of the Year. Should the winner not be able to fulfill her duties as the 2019 Mississippi Administrator of the Year, then Mrs. Barnett will step into the role.

G. 2019 Parents of the Year

Carver

Kimberly Jeffares

ECEC

Leslie Tackitt

Joyner

Nicole Graves

Lawhon

Kellie Mathis

Lawndale

Shelly Farmer

Milam

Rina Coleman

Parkway

Sheryl Sykes

Pierce

Rachel Ethridge

Rankin

Tyson Quinn

Thomas Street

Stephanie Adams

Tupelo High School

Rob and Leanne Lesley

Tupelo Middle School

Kimberly Burkley