Recognition Board of Trustee Meeting May 9, 2017

Denton ISD

UIL Academic winners

This spring, eleven Denton ISD students participated in their respective state UIL Academic Meets representing three of the four comprehensive high schools.

Denton High

The Denton High Spelling and Vocabulary Team earned second place in 5A state competition ending in a tie with Sulphur Springs High School, last year's state champions. The team includes: Hannah Chen, TJ Akram, Caden Young and Donna Son. Individually, Hannah Chen won a third place; T.J. Akram finished in eighth; Caden Young finished in 16th and Donna finished 21st in the state. The team is coached by Seth Ross.

Guyer High

Bianca Ramirez placed fourth in the 6A state competition, representing Guyer High in news writing and editorial writing. She was coached by Larry Turner.

Ryan High

The Literary Criticism Team finished as the Wild Card for best second place finish in four regions. They include Kate Villarreal, Elizabeth Deramus, Seylah Williams-Bates and Sofie Flowers. Kate Villarreal placed fourth individually in Literary Criticism. They are coached by Shawn Zeigler.

Seylah Williams-Bates and Desiree Williams also competed in poetry. Lauren Reeves competed in prose, following being named Regional Champion. They will represent Ryan High at the state Meet on May 22. They are coached by Jeanene Abney and Michael Thompson.

Guyer High School

One Act Play

For the sixth time the Guyer High School One Act Play advanced to the State One Act Play Contest and the State Theatrical Design Contest ultimately finishing fourth.

In addition to group success, several students received individual honors. They include: Mira Dali – Theatrical Design Finalist (first time in the District)

John Fredrickson - Best Actor at District, Bi-District, Area, and Region; All-Star Cast At State Jake Lopez - Honorable Mention All-Star Cast at District

Emma Marino - Tech Award at Bi-District, Team Technical Award at Area

Reid Pannell - Team tech award at area

Ashlynn Stewart - All Star Cast at Bi-District, Honorable Mention All Star at Area

Alexa Teleki - All-Star Cast at Bi-District; Honorable Mention All-Star Cast at Area; Hon.

Mention All-Star Cast at Region

Ben Watson - Team Technical Award at Area

Mallory Wilder - Team Technical Award at Area

Alexis Williams - Technical Award at District, Area, and Region; Team Technical Award at Area

Malana Wilson - All Star Cast at District, Area, Region and State; Honorable Mention All-Star Cast at Bi-District

Members of One Act Play that finished fourth in state include: Travis Barton, Luke Brodersen, Pierce Brodersen, Emily Carson, Claire Collins, Lindsey Duffin, Grace Duncan, John Fredrickson, Jordan Goldstein, Emily Holder, D'Shaud Howard, Hannah Johnson, Serena Khatri Chhetri, Jackson Lease, Jake Lopez, Emma Marino, Lexi Quilty, Reid Pannell, Addison Rhoads, Ashlynn Stewart, Quincy Stoker-Schaeffer, Alexa Teleki, Ben Watson, Mallory Wilder, Alexis Williams and Malana Wilson.

Mrs. Eleshia Crotwell is the director, and Mr. Chris Crotwell is technical director.

LaGrone ATC State Representatives

TAFE

The Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE) is a co-curricular statewide student organization created to allow young men and women an opportunity to explore the teaching profession. The organization is sponsored by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals and is governed by a board of directors comprised of teachers, students and principals. TAFE seeks to provide the best and brightest high school and middle school students with the necessary knowledge to make informed decisions about pursuing careers in education

During their recent state-wide conference, several students finished first in their respective categories. They include: Jhoana Corpus, first place in Chapter yearbook; Sofia Arevalo, first place in Project Visualize in Leadership; Austin Castillo, first place in Project Visualize Leadership; Alison Helms, first place in Portfolio; Leticia Bosquez, first place in Project Visualize Appreciation; Maria Alamilla, first place in Project Visualize Appreciation; Trinity Kibart, first place in Portfolio; Kaitlynn Shilling, first place in Bulletin Board; Jessica James, first place in Portfolio; Rebecca Walton, second place in Bulletin Board; Emilie Runions, second place in Bulletin Boards.

Students who advanced to state competition but did not place include: Jude Bearden, Kayla Bell, Sophia Lopez, Claire Domingue, Fatima Valdez, Gracyn Brewington and Victoria Horton.

Their sponsors are Ms. Leah Zavala and Ms. Staci Eason-Gilmore.

Escoffier School of Culinary Arts Competition

A four-student team from the culinary track competed in the Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts Mystery Basket competition. They had one hour to create a dish to present to judges. The team winning first place included: John Brothers, Jason McAdams, Omar Ortiz, Matthew O'Shea and Chris Trebus (alternate).

Their sponsors are Chef Tonya Tivis and Chef Paul Niles.

TSA State Competition

Students in the architectural track attended a state contest hosted by the Technology Student Association during the first week of April.

First place winners include: Alexis Estrada, Division I Residential Design over 2,000 sq. ft., one story; Mason Muzurek, Division I Residential Design under 2,000 sq. ft., multi-story; Christian

Navarro-Roque, Division I Residential Design under 2,000 sq. ft., one story; Nathaly Pineda, Division I Residential Design over 2,000 sq. ft., multi-story; Rey Salazar Lopez, Division II Residential Design over 2,000 sq. ft. multi-story.

Their sponsor is Mr. Jeff Koenig.

Cosmetology Skills USA Texas Competition

Cosmetology students recently attended the SkillsUSA Texas competition bringing home multiple top finishes.

State winners include: Victoria Bias, first place – Pedicures; Mikenzi Bower, first place – Nail Art; Brenda Guevara, fourth place – Evening Hairstyling; Estella Jarrett, second place – Hair color/Highlighting; Samantha Jennings, first place – Foil Highlighting; Alea McFarren, first place – Nail Art Photo Panel; Abigail Melrose, first place – Pedicure Photo Panel; Anna Nelms, first place – Eyelash Extension Photo Panel; Kennady Olson, first place – Braiding Photo Panel; Victoria Pratt, first place – Make-up Artistry Photo Panel; Mariana Sanchez, first place – Acrylic Nails Photo Panel; Kirstyn Schultz, first place – Manicure Photo Panel; and Journie Younger, first place – Theatrical Make-up & Best of Show.

Their sponsors are Ms. Brenda Buster and Ms. Olivia Schacht.

DENTON ISD

UNT International students work with Denton ISD

Denton ISD would like to recognize the University of North Texas' Education Department for their partnership in bringing multiculturalism into the classroom through international students' work with our students and teachers.

For the fifth consecutive year, students from Spain worked with teachers and students as part of the UNT International Student Teaching Exchange.

Here to talk about the program and introduce their students are Dr. Lisbeth Dixon-Krauss and Dr. Ricardo Gonzalez.