Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Unity Board of Education

May 10, 2016– 6 p.m. – Board Room

(Not official until Board Approved)

Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call – The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Debbie Ince-Peterson; roll call was taken, members present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, Pat Kastens, Ryan Peterson, James Beistle, Sheryl Holmgren, and David Moore. Others Present: Brandon Robinson.

Approval of the Agenda – A unanimous Holmgren/Beistle motion approved the agenda as written.

Consideration to Suspend Regular Session – A unanimous R. Peterson/Holmgren suspended regular session to convene closed session for the purpose of WI § 19.85 (1)(c) in considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility.

Adjourn Closed Session – A unanimous Beistle/Holmgren motion adjourned closed session to reconvene regular session; all members present as listed above and voting in favor of reconvening regular session. Others present: Brandon Robinson, Kara Holden, Jaclyn Ahlgren, Cara Holicky, Nicole Kovar, Zack Fugate, Lynda Olds, Valerie Colletti, Gabrielle Foeller, Whitney Rock, and Mary Stirrat.

Possible Action on Recommendation(s) From Closed Session

The Board of Education approved the Final Notices of Nonrenewal to certified staff members for licensure, budgetary, and performance reasons. The names of the certified employees are being withheld from the public at this time, pending notification of the affected employees.

<u>Citizen's Request to Speak/Address the Board</u> (limited to three minutes per person and germane to agenda topics as noted in Board Policy). No one signed up to address the Board.

Reorganization (An Election of Officers)

A Election of Officers:

- 1. A unanimous Moore/Holmgren motion approved Debbie Ince-Peterson as the Board President
- 2. A unanimous Moore/Holmgren motion approved James Beistle as Vice President
- 3. A unanimous R. Peterson/Moore motion approved Patricia Kastens as Clerk
- 4. A unanimous Beistle/Holmgren motion approved David Moore as the Treasurer

B. A unanimous Beistle/Moore motion approved the Board Committee Appointments as they are currently written.

C. A unanimous Beistle/Holmgren motion approved the School Standing Committees as they are currently written.

D. A unanimous Beistle/Kastens motion approved David Moore to the CESA Board of Control.

E. A unanimous Moore/R. Peterson motion approved James Beistle as the WASB Delegate with Patricia Kastens as the alternate.

F. A unanimous Moore/Kastens motion approved Jaclyn Ahlgren as the 2015-2016 Recording Secretary.

INFORMATION.

CESA Report- David Moore informed everyone that CESA would be meeting again on May 12, 2016. **Technology**- James Beistle reported on the April 14, 2015 Technology Meeting. He discussed plans for Summer Academy, iPads, and the upcoming in-service day.

Language Arts Curriculum Report - Elizabeth Jorgensen presented a curriculum report that outlined

updates in the language arts department. The Board thanked the staff for working on it. **District Administrator's Report-** Mr. Robinson presented the District Administrator's report. He discussed the ADP graduation. Additionally, he shared his enthusiasm regarding the upcoming summer school events. The complete District Administrator's report can be found online by visiting: http://unity.kl2.wi.us/.

CONSENT AGENDA

Approval of Minutes, April 12, 2016- A unanimous Kastens/R. Peterson motion approved the minutes of the April 12, 2016 meeting as written.

Approval of the Minutes of the Board Planning Session- A unanimous Holmgren/Kastens motion approved the minutes of the Board Planning Session as written.

A unanimous Kastens/Moore motion approved the vouchers as listed, with R. Peterson abstaining. A unanimous R. Peterson/Holmgren motion approved the activity accounts.

Brandon Robinson gave a brief financial report. A unanimous Kastens/Holmgren motion approved the financial report as presented.

Personnel-

A unanimous Beistle/Moore motion approved the retirement resignation of Barbara McCoy with thanks and appreciation for twenty years of dedicated service.

A unanimous Beistle/Kastens motion approved the retirement resignation of Joann Ogren with thanks and appreciation for twenty-three years of dedicated service.

A unanimous Beistle/Kastens motion approved the retirement resignation of Cheryl Volgren with thanks and appreciation for twenty-seven years of dedicated service.

A unanimous Beistle/Kastens motion approved the retirement resignation of Debra Petzel with thanks and appreciation for twenty-six years of dedicated service.

A unanimous Moore/R. Peterson motion approved the resignation of Nicole Kovar, Special Education Director and School Psychologist.

ACTION AGENDA

A unanimous Moore/Kastens motion approved the 2016-2017 Food Service Meal Prices.

A unanimous R. Peterson/Holmgren motion approved the Summer Projects Plan.

Gabrielle Foeller and Whitney Rock presented information on the Senior Class Trip. A unanimous Moore/Kastens motion approved the Senior Class Trip as presented.

A unanimous Moore/Holmgren motion approved the Fund 46 Resolution.

A unanimous Beistle/R. Peterson motion adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted, Jaclyn Ahlgren, Recording Secretary

Patricia Kastens, Clerk