Ector County Independent School District Odessa, Texas Memorandum

TO: Board of Trustees

FROM: Tom Crowe, Superintendent of Schools

SUBJECT: REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT/REAPPOINTMENT OF STUDENT HEALTH ADVISORY COUNCIL (SHAC) MEMBERS

DATE: September 15, 2015

The School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) was established for the public purpose of recommending health curriculum to the Ector County ISD Board of Trustees, as recommended by law. A majority of the Council must be parents of students enrolled in the District and who are not employed by the District. The Board may also appoint one (1) or more school teachers, public school administrators, district students, healthcare professionals, members of the business community, law enforcement representatives, senior citizens, clergy, representatives of non-profit health organizations, or representatives from other groups.

There are currently three (3) vacant SHAC positions, one Parent Member position and two Community Member positions. The District has received an adequate number of applications to fill the 2015-16 SHAC Membership vacancies. No further recruiting or advertising is necessary.

The Board of Trustees shall consider, but is not limited to, written applications that are submitted by any eligible person desiring to serve on the Council.

It is recommended that the Board of Trustees take action and appoint/reappoint by ballot applicants to serve as a Student Health Advisory Council member for a two (2) year term.

Respectfully submitted,

Tom Crowe Superintendent of Schools **Todd Vesely** Executive Director of Athletics

2015-16 Appointment / Reappointment Student Health Advisory Council Members

(Total Parent and Community Membership Capacity: 14)

The following members' terms ended August 2015 and submit their names for reappointment:

Parent Members	Community Members
Gracie Flores – TTUHSC	Susan Rathbun – Counseling UTPB
Christin Abbott-Timmons – RN OMC	Jeff Russell – President GeniusHR

The following members' terms will end August 2016:

Parent Members	Community Members
Rhonda Spykes – RN ORMC	Diana Ruiz – Director Community Hlth MCH
Kathy Siepak – Professional Development Mentor	Beth Meyerson – First Five Permian Basin
Arlo Chavira – Water Management	
Diana Edmiston – Self Employed	

Tonya Eckert – Director Casa De Amigos

The following Applicants have submitted their names for consideration for the vacancies listed. These terms will end August 2017:

(One vacancy)	(Two vacancies)
Parent Members	Community Members
Carrie Bronaugh- PBRCADA Program Director	Lisa Cline – Nutritional Education Specialist
	Mellessa Brenem – Community Liaison BRACADA
	Renee Morris – Director of Women's Programs
	Yollie Wilkins – Retired Teacher