## W-E-M BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES REGULAR MEETING Monday, June 28, 2021, 6 p.m.

The WEM Board of Education met in regular session with an adjusted agenda due to the lack of board members on Monday, June 28, 2021 at the Waterville Building in the Board Room. The meeting was called to order by Board Chairman Gary Michael at 6:02 p.m.

Board Members Michael, Jay Schneider, Jeff Stangler (teleconference), and June Rezac, participated in the meeting. Also present were Superintendent Joel Whitehurst, Principals Dr. Jennifer Wilson and Bobbie Jo Bastian, Business Manager Margaret Jewison, and Activities Director Jeff Boran participated in the meeting via teleconference.

Motion by Schneider and seconded by Rezac to approve the adjusted agenda. Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

Motion by Stangler and seconded by Schneider to approve the 10-year long term facilities maintenance plan (See attachments which include Long-Term Facility Maintenance, and FY 2023 LTFM Ten-Year Revenue Projection V4). Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

## **VISITOR COMMENTS**

There were no visitor comments.

Motion by Schneider and seconded by Rezac to approve the Preliminary 2021-22 Budget, which was presented by Margaret Jewison (See attachments which include 2021-2022 Preliminary Budget Notes and 2021-2022). Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

The board discussed a request by Sheryl Reed for a year-long (2021-22) leave of absence. The board decided not to allow this leave of absence.

Motion by Schneider and seconded by Stangler to approve the following special election activities:

- Resolution appointing election judges for the August 10, 2021 school district special election;
- Approve designating the district office as location of absentee voting;
- Approve resolution establishing and naming the Le Sueur County Election Administrator and the Auditor-Treasurer Ballot Board for the August 10, 2021 school district election;
- Resolution appointing election judges (see attachments for all four items)

Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

Motion by Schneider and seconded by Rezac to approve the following new hires:

- Alyssa Schmidtke, Elementary Teacher MS10/Step 9, \$49,857;
- Britta Robran, Reading Interventionist BS10/Step 4, \$35,817;
- Robert Ross, Physical Education/Health/DAPE Teacher BS/Step 11, \$45,306;
- Cora Eingestehen, Elementary Teacher BS/Step 2 \$33,744. (See attached contracts for all four)

Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

Motion by Michael and seconded by Stangler to approve Summer School Staff.

Teachers: Kaitlin Vetsch (Kindergarten), Julie Hayford (Grade 1), Susan Krienke (Grade 2), Michele Sutcliffe (Grade 3), Patty Whitehurst (Grade 4), Kelsey Schiefelbein (Grades 5-7), Susan Michael (Special Education), Sheryl Reed (Earyl Childhood Special Education), Joan Steinhaus (School Nurse), and Bobbie Bastian (Administrator). Bastian earns \$52.67/hour and the others \$33.43/hour).

Paraprofessionals: Amy Petry - \$17.46/hour, Kortney McKenna - \$13.22/hour, Lois Masberg - \$17.46/hour, and Pam Heinz - \$13.22/hour.

Bus Drivers: Roger Lamont, Heather Suemnick, and Jim Hanks. They all earn \$27.63/hour.

Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

Motion by Schneider and seconded by Rezac to approve the non-renewal of Jeanne Anderson, a probationary school nurse. Four members voted in favor by roll call vote - motion declared passed.

Motion by Schneider and second by Stangler to adjourn the meeting at 6:27 p.m. Four members voted in favor - motion declared passed.

## ATTEST:

Gary Michael, Board Chair Jay Schneider, Board Clerk