## Collin County Community College District Board of Trustees

2021-12-7 December 7, 2021

Resource: Melissa Irby Chief Financial Officer

**AGENDA ITEM:** Consideration of Approval of a Resolution and Official

Ballot Casting Votes for Candidates for the Collin Central

Appraisal District Board of Directors

**DISCUSSION:** In accordance with the Texas Property Tax Code, the

appraisal district's five directors are elected by the taxing units that participate in the Appraisal District. Each taxing unit may nominate one to five board candidates. The district's board of directors serves two-year terms, with

the next term beginning January 1, 2022.

Nominations must be made in an open meeting, and a written resolution from the presiding office of the governing board must be delivered to the chief appraiser.

The resolution must include the name and address of

each candidate nominated.

To be eligible to serve on the board, an individual must be a resident of the district and must have resided in the district for at least two years immediately preceding the date they take office. Terms will begin January 1, 2022.

Collin College is entitled to cast 199 votes in the election of the Collin Central Appraisal District Board of Directors. At the conclusion of the nominating process, the Collin Central Appraisal District will send each voting taxing unit at least one vote to cast a ballot with voting instructions.

DISTRICT PRESIDENT'S RECOMMENDATION:

The District President recommends that the Resolution and Official Ballot casting votes for the Collin Central Appraisal District Board of Directors be approved.

SUGGESTED MOTION:

"Mr. Chairman, I make a motion that the Board of Trustees of Collin County Community College District approves the resolution and ballot casting votes for the candidates for the Collin Central Appraisal District Board of Directors with the exception of Wayne Mayo."