Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Thursday, March 20, 2012, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office, 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Jeff Lloyd – President, Rick Dunham – Vice-President, Janet Banks – Board Member, Peter Baumert – Board Member, Doug Claborn – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, David Foote – Superintendent, David Steele – H S Principal, Denice Hutchinson – H S Asst. Principal, John Machel – J H Principal, Mark McCormick – Intermediate School Principal, Diane Cody – Dir. of Special Education, and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager Absent: Gary Schniederjan – Secretary Visitors: Jim McDaniel, Zelda Beth Lang, Mario Gomez, Boyd Barrow, and Tammi Kate Ledford

12496. Call to Order – President Lloyd called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.

- 12497. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12498. Student/Teacher Presentations None
- 12499. Audience with:

Patrons - None

Students - None

Staff – Mr. Steele reminded the board that the high school and junior high art students, art is on display at the XIT Museum for the next couple of weeks.

- 12500. Update on Dalhart Intermediate School auditorium and second floor
 Mr. McCormick gave an update and thanked the board for the new flooring and ceiling that had been installed on the second floor of the Dalhart Intermediate School Campus.
- 12501. Update on School Improvement Plans for Dalhart High School and Dalhart Junior High – Mr. Steele reported to the board that he met with Mr. Lemons today and gave the board a copy of the report that has to be filed and that they are building at this time. He also reminded the board that the math scores are the only scores that have to be presented to the state.

Mr. Machel said they are getting ready for STAR test next week and

he has a meeting scheduled for tomorrow to get ready for the testing.

- 12502. Update on Superintendent Goals and Superintendent's Report Mr. Foote said he was going over principals goals and would schedule a time to meet with each of them. We needed to amend Goal #3 and strike the "deposit fee's" wording. Mr. Foote also reported on the recent success of several of our students in different activities that they have competed in over the last several weeks.
- 12503. Appoint election judge and early voting clerks for the scheduled May 12, 2012, School Trustee Election – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the following: Election Judge – Joan Cumming, Alternate Election Judge – Wilma Stewart, Early Voting Clerks – David Foote, Thad Lasater, Norma Smallwood, Kathy Winchell, and Delbert Dodds. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12504. Consider date and time to canvas and certify the May 12, 2012, School Trustee Election – It was moved by Peter Baumert and seconded by Randy Sherrill to schedule the date and time to canvas and certify the May 12, 2012 School Trustee Election for the Regular Scheduled Board Meeting on May 17, 2012 at 7:00 p.m., which has been moved to a Thursday instead of the normal Tuesday. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12505. Discussion on legal agreement on existing Ch. 313 contract with Hilmar Cheese – Jim McDaniel stated that Hilmar had decided to go ahead and do what was planned prior to the agreement and therefore, the agreement was not needed at this time.
- 12506. First Reading of TASB Policy Update 93 This is the first presentation of TASB Policy Update 93 and Mr. Foote went over the highlights of the policy.
- 12507. Approve the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification form for 2012 – 2013 – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Rick Dunham to approve the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification form for the 2012 – 2013 school year.

Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None

12508. Consider request for a new church to use Dalhart ISD facilities – It was moved by Peter Baumert and seconded by Janet Banks to allow the Enlighten Church Congregation to use the current auditorium at the Dalhart ISD, Administration Building located at 701 E. 10th for the fee of \$30.00/week.

Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None

12509. Consider Consent Agenda:

Minutes of Previous Meetings

Financial Reports

Budget Amendments

Disbursements

It was moved by Rick Dunham and seconded by Peter Baumert to approve the consent agenda: minutes of special meeting held on Feb. 9, 2012, minutes of regular meeting held on Feb. 23, 2012, financial reports, budget amendments, and disbursements for February 2012. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills

Doug Claborn from Claborn Heating and Air bills

12510. President Lloyd announced that the Board of Trustees would now adjourn into closed or executive session in pursuant to the following sections of the Texas Open Meetings Act: Texas Government Code Chapter 551.071 through 551.085 as they apply, that the Board of Trustees may discuss personnel regarding appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment and/or hear a complaint, the time now is 8:01 p.m. President Lloyd announced the time now is 8:59 p.m. and declared this meeting in open session.

12511.

Mr. Foote reported that the following contracts had been extended: D'Aun Young, Janie Steele, Thad Lasater, Greg McClelland, Sherry Garcia, and Joe Garcia.

It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to grant 20 days extended leave to Kaylynn Kulhavy and Cindy Dickenson as recommended.

Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None

It was moved by Rick Dunham and seconded by Randy Sherrill to approve the letter of support for Hilmar Cheese. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None

12512. President Lloyd adjourned the meeting at 9:17 p.m.