ERA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES ~ REGULAR BOARD MEETING TUESDAY, MAY 28, 2019 MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jeff Brown James Eaton Chad Greer **Kelly Lane** Todd Reiter Jeffrey Stevens K.D. Weaver SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT: **Supt** – Jeremy Thompson Finance Director – Suzette Henderson **Elementary Principal** – Courtney Stevens Secondary Principal – Todd Jones OTHER SCHOOL PERSONNEL: Leann Spears Don Neu Delanie Sager Dana Klement Robin Downe Andrea Clark VISITORS PRESENT: numerous students and parents were present Meeting called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Jeffrey Stevens. II. Certification that a quorum was present. III. Recognize Guests or Committees Calling on the Board The Board formally recognized the following Era Hornet State Qualifiers from this school year, along with their coaches/sponsors: Alexia Britain (Academics) - News Writing Emma Stevens (Academics) – Poetry **Dylan Archer** (Academics) – Current Events (3rd place team, 3rd place individual) **Keri Colson** (Academics) – Current Events (3rd place team) **Amanda Almon** (Academics) – Current Events (3rd place team) Makayla Glidewell (Academics) – Current Events (3rd place team) Chloe Flack (Cross Country) - State Qualifier Kiara Franklin (Track) – 4x400R **Briana Knabe** (Track) – 4x100R, 4x400R; 100M (3rd place) Faith Proffer (Track) - 4x100R, 4x200R, 4x400R Hope Proffer (Track) - 4x200R, 4x400R Samantha Smith (Track) – Shot Put (5th / 6th place?) Madison Strickland (Track) - 4x100R, 4x200R Maddie Thompson (Track) – 4x100R, 4x200R **Abbie Thompson** (Track) – 4x400R (Alternate) Zachary Downe (FFA) – State Degree Candidate IV. Public Hearing Α. none V. Consent Agenda Motion by: James Eaton Second by: Todd Reiter to approve: Minutes of the April 22, 2019, Meeting. Bill Register, checks Activity: 2554-2576, Budget: 049847-049952, WC: 17, 18 Donations were accepted as presented.

6 For

Against

Abstain

Motion passed:

VI. New Business

	A.	Campus Principals Courtney Stevens and Todd Jones presented reports on enrollment and attendance, passing rates, and upcoming school events.
	В.	The Board reviewed the 2018-19 Annual Comprehensive Needs Assessment. No formal action was taken.
	C.	Superintendent Jeremy Thompson presented the Annual State Compensatory Education Evaluation for 2018-19 in a Public Hearing. No formal action was taken.
	D.	Motion by: Todd Reiter Second by: Chad Greer to approve the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification, 2019-20, as presented. Motion passed: 6 For 0 Against 0 Abstain
	E.	The Board reviewed the preliminary 2019 Budget for the DCAD. No formal action was taken.
	F.	Superintendent Jeremy Thompson presented information related to a potential donation from ESAB to the Vocational Agriculture Department. No formal action was taken.
	G.	Motion by: Chad Greer Second by: Jeff Brown to approve the Interlocal Agreement with the Region 8 Education Service Center for The Interlocal Purchasing System (TIPS) for 2019-20, as presented. Motion passed: 6 For 0 Against 0 Abstain
	Н.	No budget amendments were presented.
	I.	Motion by: Jeff Brown Second by: KD Weaver to accept the resignation of Era ISD Trustee, Kelly Lane, as presented. Motion passed:6 For0 Against0 Abstain
	J.	 Superintendent, Jeremy Thompson, reported on the following: 1. District Construction/Maintenance Update 2. Reviewed meeting dates for May, and June. Regular meeting dates as follows: Monday, June 17, 2019 @ 6:00pm Monday, June 24, 2019 @ 6:00pm
		3. Update on the last month of professional development attended by the Superintendent and Board.
	K.	No student issues were presented.
	L.	Recent retirements and resignations were presented to the Board, and professional and at-will salary increases for 2019-20 were discussed. No formal action was taken at this meeting.
VII.	A.	Finance Director, Suzette Henderson, presented updated financial information for the current school year, and preliminary budget and tax rate information for the 2019-20 fiscal year. No action was taken.
VIII.		Motion by: KD Weaver Second by: James Eaton to adjourn at 6:51 p.m. Motion passed: 6 For 0 Against 0 Abstain
Jeffre	y Stev	vens, Board President Date Jeff Brown, Board Secretary Date