AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., July 17, 2007 with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Doyle Woodall

Ray Beaty DC Renda Berryhill Butch Foreman Carol Gregg Randy Rives Dr. Donna Smith

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Irene Granado, Alma Guerrero, Wendy Hines, Margaret Lehr, Bruce Revell, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman
- Others: Gay Jenkins, Elaine Marsilio, Lu Cleere, Pete Frankson, Susan Duckworth, Amanda Rutledge, David Watts, Kathy Jones, Robert Bowman, Rebecca Mull, Fay Batch, Denise Rives, Tommy Harrison, Chuck Isner, Michelle Edwards, Cheryl Ferguson, Malcom Tyree, Mary Lou Goodman, Caroll Skaggs, Kenney Ross, Denise Shetter, Carol Underwood, Ashley & Kerri, Nancy Clark, Pam Hicks, Pam Harper, Susan Lara, Elaine Smith, Dodie Cashell, Tonya Houston, Glena DeMoss, Cathy Moore, Chris, Annie, Max, & Mia Stanley, Jim & Kim Norton, Gloria Aguirre, Alejandria Davila, Crystale Galindo, Chief Brian Moersch, Al Harris, Dane Adkinson, Rey Lascano, Carlton Johnson, Mike Atkins, Ann Suiter, Nelda Loya
- **<u>19876</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.
- **19877 Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags:** The pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by Camp SIP students Mia Stanley and Alejandria Davila.
- **<u>19878</u> Invocation:** Butch Foreman, Board Vice-President, gave the invocation.

<u>19879</u> <u>Special Presentations</u>:

Past President Award – Randy Rives –

Renda Berryhill, Board Member, presented the Past President Award to Randy Rives for his service as Board President from 2004-2007.

Special Recognition – Jim Norton –

Jim Norton, Crockett Junior High School teacher, was recognition for his heroic efforts following a tragic automobile/pedestrian accident on April 19, 2007.

Coca-Cola Scholarship Award -

Odessa High School student, Jennie Rhodes was recognized for receiving a scholarship through the Coca-Cola Johnston Legacy Scholars Program. Jennie gave special recognition to retired OHS teacher Eddy Pomroy.

Jennie was also recognized for having served on the ECISD Student Health Advisory Council.

UIL Region 6 Music Executive Committee Award -

Randy Talley, Executive Director for Fine Arts, presented the UIL Region 6 Music Executive Committee Award to Raymond Starnes.

19880 Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

<u>Approval of Consent Agenda</u>: Moved by Smith, seconded by Berryhill that the following Consent Agenda be approved:

- 1. Superintendent's Agenda
- 2. Minutes of Meeting June 19, 2007 – Regular June 26, 2007 – Special July 2, 2007 – Special
- 3. Bills for Payment
- 4. School Construction Report
- 5. Purchases Over \$250,000

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>19881</u> <u>Approval of Ector County Appraisal District Board Member</u>: Item Tabled.

19882 Approval of Student Code of Conduct: Item Tabled.

<u>19883</u> <u>Approval to Sell Residential Lot</u>: Moved by Foreman, seconded by Rives to approve the sale of a residential lot as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

19884 Approval of 2007-2008 Salary Schedule: Dane Adkinson, TASB Senior Compensation Consultant HR Services, presented the TASB Pay Plan Review for 2007-2008.

The following citizens addressed the Board:

Tonya Houston, TCTA District Director Odessa, TX

Chuck Isner, TSTA President Odessa, TX

Kenny Ross, Vice-President ATPE Odessa, TX

Moved by Smith, seconded by Foreman to approve the 2007-2008 Salary Schedule as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **19885** Approval of Memorandum of Understanding and Articulation Agreement Between UTPB and ECISD: Dr. Watts, UTPB President, presented information with regard to the memorandum of understanding and articulation agreement between UTPB and ECISD. Interim Superintendent, Hector Mendez, asked the item be tabled until further study.
- **19886** Approval of Application for Expedited and General State Waivers: Moved by Smith, seconded by Foreman to approve the Application for Expedited and General State Waivers as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

19887Approval of Board Policy BQ(Local) Planning and Decision-Making
Process: Moved by Rives, seconded by Berryhill to approve Board Policy
BQ(Local) Planning and Decision-Making Process as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>19888</u> Closed Session Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Recommendation to Hire Bowie Junior High School Principal and Murry Fly Elementary School Principal and Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No Closed Session.
- **19889** Approval of Recommendation to Hire Bowie Junior High School <u>Principal</u>: Moved by Foreman, seconded by Berryhill to approve the recommendation to hire Denise Shetter as principal for Bowie Junior High School.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>19890</u> <u>Approval of Recommendation to Hire Principal for Murry Fly</u> <u>Elementary School</u>: Moved by Rives, seconded by Beaty to approve the recommendation to hire Carlton Johnson as Principal for Murry Fly Elementary School.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>19891</u> Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Berryhill, seconded by Beaty to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>19892</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:01 p.m.

Board President Carol Gregg Board Secretary Ray Beaty, DC