## **Minutes of Regular Meeting**

### The Board of Trustees Sunray ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Sunray ISD was held Monday, February 13, 2017, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Board Room at 400 E. 7th Street (Rear Entrance).

#### 1. Roll Call

Prayer and Pledge

Members present: Scott Peeples, Merrill Harp, Richard Crowley, Brian Lee, Stacy Nelson, Shelby Taylor, and Brian Thompson Absent: Kaj Overstreet

Other individuals present: Cayman Ivins, Marshall Hughes, Ron Morris, Janet Pipkin, Tomas Espino, Dawson Popejoy, Darren Ivins, Lisa Espino, Eva Cook, Braylen Cook, Misti Ivins, Sheila Johnson, Steven Moore, Lynn Hughes, Brianna Hammack, Denise Wilson, Kevin Wilson, Kim Rousser, Tuly Henry, Pat Armstrong, Chad Ely, Kurt Haberthur, Stacie Jones, Pam Keisling, and Sid Whiteley.

#### 2. TAPR Report

#### 3. Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of Minutes of Previous Meeting- January 9, 2017
- B. Approval of Expenditures

Richard Crowley made the motion to accept and approve the consent agenda as presented. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

#### 4. Business Items

A. Consideration and possible action on moving the regular March Board Meeting on March 13th to another date due to Spring Break

Brian Lee made the motion to move the regular March Board meeting to March 9<sup>th</sup> due to spring break. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

B. Consideration of and action on Resolution for Joint Election Agreement with the City of Sunray, pursuant to Texas Education Code 11.0581 and Chapter 271 of the Election Code Shelby Taylor made the motion to approve the resolution for Joint Election Agreement with the City of Sunray, pursuant to Texas Education Code 11.0581 and Chapter 271 of the Election Code. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

C. Consideration of and action on Joint Election Agreement with the City of Sunray, as required by Texas Education Code 11.0581 and Chapter 271 of the Election Code.

Stacy Nelson made the motion to approve the Joint Election Agreement with the City of Sunray as required by TEC 11.0581 and Chapter 271 of the Election Code. Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

D. Order General Trustee Election for May 6, 2017

Brian Lee made the motion to order a general trustee election for May 6, 2017. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

E. Appointment of Election Clerks for May 6, 2017 Early Election Clerks: Jane Wilson, Denise Wilson, and Pat Armstrong Election Day Clerk: Kathy Lee

Shelby Taylor made the motion to appoint Jane Wilson, Denise Wilson and Pat Armstrong as Early Election Clerks along with Kathy Lee as Election Day Clerk. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

F. Appointment of Election Judge for May 6, 2017 Election Judge - Cindy Morton

Richard Crowley made the motion to appoint Cindy Morton as election judge for May 6, 2017. Shelby Taylor seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

- G. First Reading of Policy Update 107, affecting local policies (CDC, FJ, GE, CJ, DC, DFAA, DFBA, DFCA, DEE, FEA, and FFA)
- H. Consideration and possible approval of the Resolution to Adopt a District of Innovation

Merrill Harp made the motion to approve the resolution to adopt a district of innovation. Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

I. Consideration and possible approval of the DOI committee

Stacy Nelson made the motion to approve the DOI committee consisting of Sharly Seiler, Lidia Rodriguez, Caitlyn Rice, Brandy Hollaway, Connie Walker, and Sharon Moore. Brian Lee seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet J. Consideration and possible approval of the Homestead Exemption for Moore County

Shelby Taylor made the motion to approve the Homestead Exemption for Moore County as presented (\$25,000 homestead; \$10,000 for over 65; \$10,000 SS Disability; DAV (state mandated: Category 1 - \$5,000, Category 2 - \$7,500, Category 3 - \$10,000, Category 4 - \$12,000; DAV – 100%). Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

#### K. Personnel

# The meeting was called into closed session: as authorized by the Texas Open Meeting Act, Texas Government Code, §551.074 at 8:47 PM for the purpose of discussing personnel. At 10:35 PM, the meeting was called back into regular session

- 1. Evaluations/Conferences/Contracts
  - a. Special Programs Director

Brian Lee made the motion to extend Pat Armstrong, Special Programs Director a one-year term contract for 2017-18. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

b. Principals

Richard Crowley made the motion to extend Stacie Jones, Sunray Elementary; Pam Keisling, Sunray Middle; and Sid Whiteley, Sunray High School, a oneyear term contract for 2017-18. Shelby Taylor seconded the motion (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

c. Athletic Director

Merrill Harp made the motion to extend Kurt Haberthur, Sunray Athletic Director, a one-year term extension for 2018-19. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

d. NWTSSA Director

Merrill Harp made the motion to extend Stephanie Hund, NWTSSA Director, a one-year term contract for 2017-18. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (6-0) motion carried. Absent: Kaj Overstreet

L. Discussion of long-term sub pay for certified teachers

#### 5. Superintendent's Remarks

- A. TASB Spring Workshop at WTAMU on May 17, 2017
- **B.** Review School Investment Policies
- C. Staffing Needs/Program Changes for 2017-18

D. State of the District

- 1. Staff Appreciation Banquet April 24, 2017 possible date
- 6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned by Board President, Scott Peeples at 10:42 PM.

Attested: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Scott Peeples, Board President

Richard Crowley, Board Secretary