Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2011

The Guyer and Ryan high school football teams made history this season, making Denton ISD the first school district to have two teams play for UIL state football championships in the same season.

Guyer High School

Guyer became just the third team ever to reach the state championship in its first season in Class 5A, the state's largest athletic classification.

The Wildcats finished the regular season with an 8-2 record and defeated Flower Mound Marcus 35-28 to earn the Class 5A Division II Bi-District title. Guyer followed that victory by defeating Cedar Hill 48-35 in the Class 5A Division II area round of the playoffs and continued their run with a 55-7 win against Abilene Cooper in the Class 5A Division II Region I semifinal.

In the Class 5A Division II Region I final, Guyer clinched a spot in the state semifinals for the third consecutive time with a 24-14 victory over Southlake Carroll. The Wildcats then defeated Longview 28-27 in a dramatic come-from-behind victory in the Class 5A Division II state semifinal.

Guyer fell to Cibolo Steele 24-21 in the Class 5A Division II state championship, but has established itself as one of the top programs in the state. The Wildcats have played in three state semifinals and one state championship in only five years of the school's existence.

Senior quarterback J.W. Walsh and offensive lineman Alec Willis were each named to the Class 5A All-State Team by the Associated Press this season.

The Guyer coaching staff includes: John Walsh, head coach; Mitch Stovall, offensive coordinator; Lee Vallejo, Jr., co-offensive coordinator; Derek Ramsey, defensive coordinator; Casey Hubble, co-defensive coordinator, and Oschlor Flemming, special teams coordinator.

The assistant coaches include: Jeff Barnett, Chris Johnson, Zane Jillson, Kyle Keese, Bryan Kegans, Johnny Kinzy, Cory Maxwell, Fred Norris, Brian Valenzuela, Rick Wesson, Mike Weatherford and Mark Young. The trainers are Jeff Jones, Janna Roper and assistant Charla Valenzuela.

These coaches and players also were assisted by the middle school football coaches throughout the $2010\ season$.

Congratulations to the Guyer Wildcats including players:

Josh HarrisCody HenneseeBronson AddisonJake SmithJosh AllenConnor AllenDominic PickeringAlex LuftJosh StewartDiontre ThomasPatrick YooJimmy BeanJ.W. WalshLuis Sarmiento

Leo Garcia Cameron Hunter
Quintavia Gardener Eric Dorsey

Connor Crane
Blake Terry
Colton Berry
John Ferguson
Vince Sanders
Patrick Morris
Jud Kinzy
Jon Ward

Dominic Ramacher

Jordan Helal
Michael Fischer
Alec Willis
Colin Hinchey
Jesse Roberson
Scotty Adams
Ryan Felan
Daniel Mercer
Josh Hard
Ellis Jefferson
Tavi Sanches

Treavon Walton

Jermaine Elliott

Ryan Williams

Tyler Dean

Kamrhan Jones Mark Sandy Keiondre Ballard Lance Cullum Zach Fore Jerrod Heard Zach Bush Terrell Singleton Gideon Mazara

Caleb English Sebastian Williams Josh King Dylan Clark

Taite Gentry
Aaron Wright
Jesse Aristondo
Nick Blair
Dan Kottman
Mason McKnight
Cory Miller
Tevin Graves
Kyle Jenkins
Zac Markwardt

Student trainers: Kaileigh Thompson, Brianna Brooks, Breely Greenhaw, Mark Bershell, Julia Blumenshine, Seth Bonner, Kelsea Campbell, Austnyn Graves, Jacob Jones, Duncan Mayer, Lauren Peregoy, Keitra Bruner, Hanna Ellis, Lauren Salas, Sara Scoles, Katy Green.

Ryan High School

Ryan reached its fifth Class 4A state championship in the past 11 seasons in 2010. The Ryan High Raiders finished the regular season with a perfect 10-0 record and won their second consecutive District 4 - 4A title before opening their playoff run with a 56-17 victory against Amarillo Palo Duro to earn a Class 4A Division I Bi-District title. Ryan High followed that victory by defeating El Paso Del Valle 27-7 in the Class 4A Division I area round of the playoffs and continued their postseason success with a hard-fought 19-10 win against Waco Midway in the Class 4A Division I Region I semifinals.

Ryan High clinched a spot in the state semifinals a 46-15 victory over district rival Wichita Falls Rider in the Class 4A Division I Region I final. The Raiders then defeated Wylie 25-20 in the Class 4A Division I State Semifinal.

Ryan High lost to defending state champion Lake Travis 27-7 in the Class 4A Division I state championship, but compiled one of the best seasons in school history. Since head coach Joey Florence's arrival, the Ryan Raiders have played in five state championships, winning two, and accumulated countless team and individual honors.

Junior defensive end Mario Edwards Jr. was named the Class 4A Defensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press. Joining him on the AP Class 4A all-state team this season were

senior defensive end Ty Hook, linebackers Jordan Richmond, Johnny Paramore and Alex De La Torre, receiver Michael Cudd, and quarterback Nash Knight.

The Ryan coaching staff includes: Joey Florence, head coach; Matt Tittle, offensive coordinator, and David Thomas, defensive coordinator. The assistant coaches include: Keiston Alexander, Robert Butler, Aaron De La Torre, Mario Edwards Sr., Pat Galyon, Janson Head, Matt Hudson, Eric Lokey, Billy Miller, Shane Montgomery, Jaron Rainey, Eugene Rogers, Kris Slivocka and Brett Warnack. The trainers are Mike Ortiz and Sharon Winn.

These coaches and players also were assisted by the middle school football coaches throughout the 2010 season.

Congratulations to the Ryan Raiders including players:

Kaylon Alexander Ryan Jackson Michael Cudd Colton Gutierrez Hunter Wakefield **Kevin Carpenter Hunter Tomlinson** Xaviere Scott Justin Grisham Damon Medcafe Kamrun Bowen Carson Beard Trey Mohair Marc Orozco Nash Knight Dylan May Ty Hook **Zach Hopkins** Trey Cook Austin Coker Jonny Paramore Jake Hays Xavier Rose Gabe Lopez Mitchell Bridges Aleiandro Yanez Daniel Martin Luther Currin LeDarian Sims Aaron Workman Rodrick Jimerson Sam Johnson Dominic Thompson Favian Ramirez Mario Edwards Jr. Blake Sprayberry Derek Willimason Masinura Price Yusef Logan Rondetric Turner DeVonte' Elder Kavon Green Matt Griffin Jordan Richmond Drew Ferguson Craig Moore Dominique Banks Raul Sanchez Jerrick Harvey Lamar Clewis Cedric Harris William Parlett Corey Cox Ronnie Crawford **Corbin Forest** Tevin McCray Sterling Fugett Jackson Greenhaw Ed Martey Jordan Williams **Justin Barnes** Paul Elliott Jacoby Lawson Aaron Ballard De'vontae Myers Blake Braudrick Jeremy Lenoire Chris McKeehan Devante Traylor Garrett Mize Marcus Holcomb David Tryon

Oities Walker Daniel Telaneus
Alex De La Torre Sam Benton
Reynal Caldwell Kraig Behrens
Taylor Greer Cole Tate

Emanuel Smith Desmond Oliver
Dustin Scott Terrell Clayton
Spera Dagnon Travis Reynolds

Zach Brown Zechariah Tillman-David

Devante Thomas Gabe McClaskey Philip Cristales Rahjian Patterson

Jose Benitez

Student Trainers: Melissa DeLira, Madi Beard, KayCee Gill, AnaKaren Renteria, Kat Precise, Mike Kennedy